Deery Series has Memorial Day date at Boone Speedway

Deery Brothers Summer Series

BOONE, Iowa (May 24) – Boone Speedway rolls out the red carpet on Memorial Day for the tradi­tional holiday visit by the Deery Brothers Summer Series.

The Monday, May 30 show marks the 45th appearance at Boone by the IMCA Late Model tour. This will be the 14th event to be held there on Memorial Day.

Two thousand dollars will be paid to win and a minimum of $300 paid to start the main event.

Pit gates open at 2 p.m., the grandstand opens at 3 p.m., hot laps are at 4 p.m. and racing starts at 5 p.m. Monday. Spectator admission is $15 for adults, $7 for students ages 13-17 and free for kids 12 and under when accompanying a paid adult.

Pit passes are $30.

Also running are IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks, for all applicable points, including local track points.

More information is available by calling Promoter Robert Lawton at 515 987-1220 and at the website.

Current point leader Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls owns seven career Deery Series championships and 66 main event victories and his success at Boone has figured in both series-leading totals.

Aikey counts six Deery feature wins, five IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Ca­sey’s checkers among them, among his accomplishments at Boone. He’s won the Super Nation­als event each of the last three years.

Wheatland’s Justin Kay was the Boone Deery winner last Memorial Day.

The 30th anniversary Deery Series has seen different drivers – Denny Eckrich, Curt Martin, Scott Fitzpatrick and most recently Joel Callahan – prevail in each of its first four events.

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, 187; 2. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 172; 3. John Emerson, Waterloo, 171; 4. Richie Gustin, Gilman, 165; 5. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, 164; 6. Matt Ryan, Davenport, 162; 7. Scott Fitzpatrick, Wheatland, 158; 8. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo, 149; 9. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, and Joel Callahan, Dubuque, both 143; 11. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove, 136; 12. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa, 130; 13. Chad Hol­laday, Muscatine, 129; 14. Tyler Droste, Waterloo, 113; 15. Jason Rauen, Farley, 112; 16. Gary Webb, Blue Grass, 103; 17. Rob Toland, Davenport, 100; 18. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque, and Curt Schroeder, Newton, both 96; 20. Jon Merfeld, Dubuque, 94.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply