Kyle Brown collects IMCA Modified Madness cash

Kyle Brown is the defending winner of Davenport Speedway's IMCA modified Madness 50 special. (Photo by Alan Goacher)

By Mike McGuire

DAVENPORT, Iowa (May 20) – Kyle Brown topped a stellar field of Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds to capture Modified Madness 50 win Friday at Davenport Speedway.

Brown started on the outside pole and finally passed pole sitter Joe Beal on lap 12.

Brown led the rest of the way to the checkers, but was not able to put any distance between himself and the rest of the field until the final 10 laps. For his efforts, Kyle took home the $2,000 first place prize in he Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifier.

The remainder of the top five was an intense battle that saw a lot of three and four-wide racing.

Mitch Morris slowly advanced from eighth starting spot to finish second. Kelly Shryock got as high as second before finishing third. Jeffrey Larson spent the entire race in the top five and wound up in fourth. Darin Duffy completed the top five.

Forty-nine Modifieds were on hand for the event, which has yet to see a repeat winner.

Justin Kay was the IMCA Late Model winner and Doug Burkhead picked up the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod checkers.

Modified feature results – 1. Kyle Brown; 2. Mitch Morris; 3. Kelly Shryock; 4. Jeffrey Larson; 5. Darin Duffy; 6. Kurt Kile; 7. Brian Irvine; 8. Milo Veloz Jr.; 9. Cayden Carter; 10. Ray Cox Jr.; 11. Matt Werner; 12. Corey Dripps; 13. Steve Johnson; 14. Chris Zogg; 15. Brad Dierks; 16. Jordan Hicks; 17. Joe Beal; 18. Doug Crampton; 19. Bruce Hanford; 20. Justin Kay; 21. Colt Mather; 22. Ben Chapman; 23. David Brown; 24. Brandon Rothzen.

Heat winners were Kyle Brown, Dierks, Morris, Carter, Dripps and Kile. “B” feature winners were Mather and Zogg.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply