Lion’s share of Hobby Stock Spring Nationals purse stays close to home with win by Nielsen 


SPENCER, Iowa (May 17) – The Tuesday night crowd at Clay County Fairgrounds got to cheer on one of their own as the evening’s IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock Spring Nationals main event wound down.

Cody Nielsen started fourth and led every time around the oval in the 20-lap, $2,000 to win headliner.

“I went up to the top side. Up top was the faster line for me,” he said. “It was fun to win a big show like that in front of the hometown crowd.”

“It was good to keep the money local,” added Nielsen, who counts events sponsors Spencer Office Supplies and H & N Chevrolet Buick – also his employer – among the sponsors for his own race program.

Jason Kohl had his hands full before solidifying his second-place spot but ran out of laps in his bid to catch up with Nielsen. Cory Probst, Malik Sampson and Rusty Montagne completed the top five.

Nielsen’s win was his fifth this season and first at Spencer.

Matt Morrow won for the first time in his Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod career while Cody Thompson’s Mach-1 Sport Compact checkers were his seventh of the season.

Also ending their night in victory lane were David Smith, for the 154th time in his IMCA Sunoco Stock Car career, and Jay Noteboom, for the 156th occasion in an Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified.

Hobby Stock feature results – 1. Cody Nielsen; 2. Jason Kohl; 3. Cory Probst; 4. Malik Sampson; 5. Rusty Montagne; 6. Austin Hauswirth; 7, Brandon Nielsen; 8. Daniel Smith; 9. Chad Lonneman; 10. Andrew Claus; 11. Derek Husted; 12. Drew Barglof; 13. Dustin Gulbrandson; 14. Adam Laubenthal; 15. Ed DeLong; 16. Brad Falline; 17. Trevor Holm; 18. Chad Krug; 19. Jacob Kofoot; 20. Kate Glover; 21. Dave Riley; 22. Chris DeMara.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply