11 states represented at opening night Frostbuster, Brown takes Modified thriller 

By Jeremy Fox

OSKALOOSA, Iowa (March 30) ­– Opening night of Frostbuster Week brought drivers from 11 states to Southern Iowa Speedway and was highlighted with Kyle Brown winning the Xtreme Mo­tor Sports IMCA Modified headliner.

States represented at Oskaloosa in addition to Iowa were Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota and Wisconsin.

After a caution forced a restart, Tim Ward led the opening lap of the Modified main event. Brown grabbed the top spot away and started to pull away as Kelly Shyrock worked his way from the fourth starting position.

Once around Cayden Carter and Ward, Shyrock set his sights on the leader. Brown caught up with the back of the pack on lap 12 and had to hold off Shryock while negotiating traffic.

Already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot, Brown kept Shyrock in check to take the $1,000 win. Carter and Arizona pilots R.C. Whitwell and Ward rounded out the top five. Ken Schrader was 11th.

Derrick Agee motored to the $500 IMCA Sunoco Stock Car checkers and Kyle Prauner captured the $400 Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod victory. Nick Ulin was the $300 winner in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks.

Jay Schmidt and Agee led the field to the green in the Stock Car 20-lapper. Schmidt grabbed the lead on lap one but Agee worked his way to the top spot on lap two. Agee and Schmidt seemed confortable in those positions when the only race caution came out.

The restart allowed Cayden Carter to move to second and he began to challenge. Carter pulled ahead of Agee coming to the white flag but the Hurryin’ Missourian was not to be denied as he outdueled Carter the last lap to take the win. Damon Murty moved up nine spots to finish third, Schmidt fell back to fourth and Mike Hughes was fifth.

The Northern SportMod feature was slowed by a pileup on the front stretch forcing a restart. Prauner charged into the top spot and never looked back. taking the easy victory ahead of Carter VanDenBerg, Brandon Spanjer, Jake McBirnie and Lucas Lamberies.

Ulin took the lead on lap one of the Hobby Stock feature. Shortly after several cars got together in turn three including Eric Stanton, who took a wild ride, but was able to walk away from the incident.

Ulin checked out and took the easy win ahead of John Watson, Bobby Greene, Nathan Ballard and Benji Irvine.

Feature Results

Modifieds – 1. Kyle Brown, State Center; 2. Kelly Shyrock, Fertile; 3. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 4. R.C. Whitwell, Tucson, Ariz.; 5. Tim Ward, Chandler, Ariz.; 6. Richie Gustin, Gilman; 7. Jason Wolla, Ray, N.D.; 8. Jesse Dennis, Prescott; 9. Kurt Kile, Nichols; 10. Jacob Murray, Hartford; 11. Ken Schrader, Concord, N.C.; 12. Scott Hogan, Vinton; 13. Luke Lemmens, Green Bay, Wis.; 14. A.J. Ward, Ionia, Mich.; 15. Justin Medler, Minot, N.D.; 16. Tyler Groenendyk, Oskaloosa; 17. Brian Joski, Green Bay, Wis.; 18. Mike Mueller, Rosendale, Wis.; 19. Jeremy Sorenson, Williston, N.D.; 20. Andrew Schroeder, Keswick; 21. Brandon Brinton, Nevada; 22. David Brown, Kellogg; 23. Tony Wedelstadt, New London, Wis.; 24. Jeff Wiggins, Greenfield; 25. Scott Dickey, Pack­wood; 26. Gordon Head, Des Moines.

Heat winners were Carter, Kyle Brown and Whitwell.

Stock Cars – 1. Derrick Agee, Moberly, Mo.; 2. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 3. Damon Murty, Chel­sea; 4. Jay Schmidt, Tama; 5. Mike Hughes, Oskaloosa; 6. Casey Woken, Norton, Kan.; 7. Nathan Burke, Minot, N.D.; 8. Donavon Nunnikhoven, Sully; 9. Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski, Wis.; 10. Greg Gill, Muscatine; 11. Todd Reitzler, Grinnell; 12. Eric Zwirschitz, Antigo, Wis.; 13. Jeremy Swanson, Westby, Mont.; 14. Keith Mattox, Ray, N.D.; 15. Angel Munoz, Lamar, Colo.; 16. Na­than Wood, Sigourney; 17. Rob Stenvold, Minot, N.D.; 18. Kyle Frederick, Oconto Falls, Wis.; 19. Austin Evens, Independence.

Heat winners were Munoz, Hughes and Agee.

Northern SportMods – 1. Kyle Prauner, Norfolk, Neb.; 2. Carter VanDenBerg, Oskaloosa; 3. Brandon Spanjer, Crete, Neb.; 4. Jake McBirnie, Boone; 5. Lucas Lamberies, Clintonville, Wis.; 6. Cody Olsen, Omaha, Neb.; 7. Brett Lowry, Montezuma; 8. Austin Paul, Monroe; 9. Tony Johnson, Os­kaloosa; 10. Wyatt Block, Tigerton, Wis.; 11. Curtis VanDerWal, Oskaloosa; 12. Brayton Carter, Oskaloosa; 13. Kelly Henderson, Minot, N.D.; 14. Sawyer Haese, Green Bay, Wis.; 15. Ryan Moser, Englewood, Colo.; 16. Taylor Musselman, Urbandale; 17. Hunter Parsons, Green Bay, Wis.; 18. Zach McKinnon, Wausau, Wis.; 19. Colton Livezey, New Sharon; 20. Sam Wieben, Dys­art; 21. Jonathan Logue, Boone; 22. Jason McDaniel, Eldon; 23. Kevin Bethke, Neenah, Wis.; 24. Brandon Schmitt, Beaver Dam, Wis.

Heat winners were VanDerWal, Lowry, Musselman and VanDenBerg. Haese won the “B” feature.

Hobby Stocks ­– 1. Nick Ulin, Agency; 2. John Watson, Des Moines; 3. Bobby Greene, Tracy; 4. Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 5. Benji Irvine, Oelwein; 6. Dana Brandt, Minot, N.D.; 7. Tyson Overton, Car­lisle; 8. Clint Nelson, Baxter; 9. Kenny Hay, Des Moines; 10. Dustin Griffiths, Hedrick; 11. Mike Kincaid, Cincinnati; 12. Eric Stanton, Carlisle; 13. Aaron Martin, Ottumwa; 14. Danny Thrasher, Agency; 15. Brandon Cox, Norwalk; 16. August Bach, Newton; 17. Steve Allen, Os­kaloosa.

Heat winners were Thrasher and Watson.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply