Bucket list win for Sathoff accompanied by Cellan Memorial checkers at Jackson

JACKSON, Minn. (Sept. 26) – Last year’s runner-up ran in front every time around the track at this year’s Doug Cellan Memorial, during Saturday’s Jackson Nationals show.

Luke Sathoff started outside the front row and led all 25 laps in taking the $2,000 IMCA Sunoco Stock Car checkers at Jackson Speedway.

“This was definitely a bucket list win. This is one of the top events we race in,” said Sathoff, the winner ahead of Randy Brands and Dustin Larson. “We’ve got a lot of good Stock Car drivers around here so the wins never come easy. It’s always nice when you’re able to beat a couple Super Nationals champions.”

Brands was two car lengths off the pace. Twelfth starting Shaun Bruns and 17th starting Andy Altenburg rounded out the top five.

Other winners during the rich Jackson Nationals program were Brandon Beckendorf in the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds, Nick Meyer in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods, Justin Luinenburg in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Mick Rykhus in the Mach-1 Sport Compacts.

Beckendorf and Meyer also earned $2,000 for their efforts. Luinenburg took home $1,600 along with his latest Jackson Nationals title and Rykhus piloted a car borrowed from Super Nationals champ Nate Coopman to a $750 payday.

Beckendorf drew the pole and led all 20 laps of the Modified main. He got into heavy lapped traffic before the first caution of the contest, on the 15th circuit.

Jay Noteboom, 10th starting Tim Ward, 12th starting Mike Jergens and Jeffrey Larson were second through fifth, respectively.

After running second most of the way, Meyer saw his first pass of long-time leader Kris Zuhlsdorf erased by a caution.

He saved the excitement for the white flag lap, catching Zuhlsdorf coming out of the final turn and getting just a bit more bite in the mad dash to the finish line.

Meyer, who made his first appearance this season at Jackson on Saturday, and Zuhlsdorf were chased by 11th starting Jason Andrews, 25th starting Dan Paplow and Randy Winter.

No stranger to Jackson’s victory lane, Luinenburg started outside the front row and led throughout a Hobby Stock feature interrupted by multiple cautions over its second half.

Justin Nehring was four car lengths back at the finish. Andy Hall, Eric Gillette and 17th starting Chanse Hollatz were scored next.

Rykhus led the last three laps in a Sport Compact feature that also saw its share of cautions.

He’d lined up third for what proved to be the final restart, passing Jay DeVries on the high side and leader Drew Johnson on the low side.

The win came in Rykhus’ first visit to Jackson this season. He’d only won once there previously.

Johnson, 11th starting Jay DeVries, 14th starting Kaytee DeVries and Cory Flanigan completed the top five.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply