Kay wins Iron Man on opening night of Liberty 100

Deery Brothers Summer Series

WEST LIBERTY, Iowa (Sept. 4) – Justin Kay proved up to the challenge on opening night of the Liberty 100 Weekend at West Liberty Raceway.

Kay led the last 12 laps in winning Friday’s Ideal Ready Mix Iron Man Challenge, open to all Deery Brothers Summer Series drivers with perfect attendance this season and all former IMCA Late Model tour champions.

The victory paid $1,000.

Darrel DeFrance led the first two of 20 circuits from the pole. Joe Zrostlik led lap three, then Jeff Aikey enjoyed the view from the front for four trips around the track before the seventh starting Kay sped by.

Aikey, Tyler Droste, Ray Guss Jr.  and Zrostlik completed the top five.

Winners of eight heats are in the redraw for the Saturday, Sept. 5 $3,000 to win Deery main event.

Kevin Kile, Denny Eckrich, series point leader Kay and Tyler Bruening won the first four heats. Fields were then inverted and John Emerson, Droste, Nick Marolf and Aikey prevailed in heats five through eight.

“B” races on Saturday plus provisionals will complete the starting grid. A second 50-lap feature for the regular Deery purse, but no points, plus features for Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and Mach-1 Sport Compacts are also on tomorrow night’s card.

Drivers who finished on the lead lap of the first Late Model feature will be inverted to determine starting positions for the second.

Pit gates open at 2:30 p.m., the grandstand opens at 4 p.m. and racing follows 6 p.m. hot laps.

Spectator admission is $25 for adults and $20 for students ages 13-18. Kids 12 and under get in free when accompanying a paid adult and pit passes are $30.

Iron Man Challenge results – 1. Justin Kay, Wheatland; 2. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls; 3. Tyler Droste, Waterloo; 4. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill.; 5. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove; 6. Scott Fitzpatrick, Wheatland; 7. Brian Harris, Davenport; 8. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo; 9. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown; 10. Joel Callahan, Dubuque; 11. Todd Malmstrom, Silvis, Ill.; 12. Jay Johnson, West Burlington; 13. Gary Webb, Blue Grass; 14. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply