Fairmont Raceway hosts 50th anniversary celebration program Friday 

FAIRMONT, Minn. – Fairmont Raceway will host its 50th anniversary celebration race program on Friday, Aug. 14. The evening will be jam-packed with both racing and entertainment excitement. All are invited to join in the celebration.

The grandstand opens at 5:30 p.m. and hot laps at 7 p.m. precede the 2015 hall of fame induction and anniversary race program.

Spectator admission is $12 for adults and free for students.

Track champions spanning the half-century of racing at Fairmont will be on hand and will meet and greet with fans prior to the races. Also featured will be Fairmont Raceway Hall of Fame members and past drivers.

Providing musical entertainment and serving as the VIP trophy presenter will be Miss America 1977 Dorothy Benham.

Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Mach-1 Sport Compacts all run for shares of added purse money in the draw/redraw show.

The Fairmont Eagles Club, Fairmont Body Shop and Pizza Ranch give $100 bonuses to the top 15 finishers in the Modified main. ADS Hancor, Rosens Diversified and Dennis and Kay Becker Farms give another seven $100 bonuses to random Modified finishers.

Local NAPA Auto Parts Stores and Auto Care Centers give $100 bonuses to top 15 finishers in the Hobby Stock feature.

A Legends race is also on the evening’s program.

Hall of fame inductees are Dave Bjorge, Jim Edgington, Stacey Erickson, Sunny Morgan, Richard’s Auto Towing & Repair and Dan Kastner, and the Bob Shryock family.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply