Deery Series, Hawkeye Dirt Tour travel to Tipton next Tuesday 

TIPTON, Iowa – What’s developed into a traditional doubleheader for two IMCA special series plays out again next Tuesday at Cedar County Raceway.

Both the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models and Hawkeye Dirt Tour for Xtreme Mo­tor Sports IMCA Modifieds are on the Aug. 11 card at Tipton. The Deery feature pays $3,000 to win and a minimum of $300 to start while the Dirt Tour feature pays $1,000 to win and a mini­mum of $150.

The two series have shared a Cedar County date each of the last three seasons.

Deery winners over that span have been Kevin Kile, Brian Harris and defending champion and current point leader Justin Kay. Milo Veloz Jr., Darin Duffy and Jesse Sobbing own the HDT victo­ries.

Pit gates open at 4:30 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 5 p.m. on Tuesday. The drivers’ meeting is at 6:30 p.m. and hot laps are at 6:45 p.m., with racing to follow.

Grandstand admission is $17 for adults, $15 for seniors 62 and over, $10 for students and free for kids ages six and under. Pit passes are $30.

While Deery drivers chase special series points, Hawkeye Dirt Tour competitors chase IMCA Speed­way Motors Weekly Racing National, Belleville Motorsports North Central Region and All­star Performance State points.

The Modified feature is also a qualifying event for the 2016 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.

More information about the Cedar County show is available by calling 563 889-2826 and on Face­book. 

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Justin Kay, Wheatland, 614; 2. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo, 596; 3. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, 567; 4. Scott Fitzpatrick, Wheatland, 535; 5. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove, 511; 6. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, 486; 7. Tyler Droste, Waterloo, 482; 8. John Emerson, Waterloo, 470; 9. Todd Malmstrom, Silvis, Ill., 453; 10. Jeremy Grady, Story City, 403; 11. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 391; 12. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, 387; 13. Charlie McKenna, Clear Lake, 370; 14. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, 312; 15. Ray Guss, Milan, Ill., 304; 16. Ja­son Rauen, Farley, 292; 17. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, 275; 18. Brian Harris, Davenport, 238; 19. Curt Martin, Independence, 231; 20. Richie Gustin, Gilman, 228.

Hawkeye Dirt Tour top 20 point standings  – 1. Mike Van Genderen, Newton, 205; 2. Kyle Brown, State Center, 204; 3. Ronn Lauritzen, Jesup, 147; 4. David Brown, Kellogg, 141; 5. An­drew Schroeder, Keswick, 136; 6. Nick Roberts, Des Moines, 130; 7. Ryan Maitland, Waterloo, 115; 8. Jeff Waterman, Quincy, Ill., 97; 9. Jeremy Mills, Garner, 92; 10. Todd Shute, Des Moines, and Mitchell Morris, Long Grove, both 91; 12. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa, 89; 13. Kyle Strickler, Mooresville, N.C., 79; 14. Patrick Flannagan, Cedar Rapids, 76; 15. Richie Gustin, Gilman, 75; 16. Ricky Thornton Jr., Chandler, Ariz., Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo., and Kelly Shryock, Fer­tile, each 73; 19. Troy Cordes, Dunkerton, 59; 20. Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown, 55.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply