Deal capitalizes on late restart for IMCA Hawkeye Dirt Tour win at Alta 

ALTA, Iowa (July 22) – Nick Deal became the sixth different winner in as many IMCA Hawkeye Dirt Tour events this season Wednesday at Buena Vista Raceway, on a night when Ricky Stephan nearly accomplished the impossible.

Stephan had to restart at the back of the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified field after spinning before the first lap was scored. He used multiple lines to work his way through traffic and was leading when what proved to be the final caution waved with three circuits left.

Deal had run near the front for most of the 25-lap feature. He capitalized on that late restart, pass­ing Stephan for the $1,000 feature win and an early berth on the 2016 Fast Shafts All-Star Invita­tional ballot.

Defending HDT champion Mike Van Genderen regained sole possession of the point lead with a third-place finish, one spot better than former co-leader Kyle Brown. Long-time leader Chris Abel­son ended in fifth.

Jeremy Mills led in the early going from his outside row one starting spot. Abelson rode the top side of the track to the front on lap six.

Dustin Smith and Deal both had ideas about using the inside line to challenge Abelson. Smith spun and left under caution on the 18th lap; Deal was shuffled back to fourth by Van Genderen and Stephan the next time around the oval.

Stephan completed his march to the front but couldn’t deny Deal following the final restart.

Wednesday’s win was also Deal’s career tour first.

The next Hawkeye Dirt Tour date is Aug. 11, when traveling Modifieds join the Deery Brothers Summer Series at Cedar County Raceway in Tipton.

The series concludes Sept. 19 at Farley Speedway.

Devin Smith held off older brother David to win the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature at Alta. Tim Rupp topped the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main ahead of Doug Smith.

Daniel Smith took the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock checkers and Cory Flanigan was first in the Mach-1 Sport Compact main.

Feature results – 1. Nick Deal, Walnut; 2. Ricky Stephan, South Sioux City, Neb.; 3. Mike Van Genderen, Newton; 4. Kyle Brown, State Center; 5. Chris Abelson, Sioux City; 6. Jeremy Mills, Garner; 7. Craig Reetz, Dunlap; 8. David Brown, Kellogg; 9. Matt Fredericksen, Aurelia; 10. Alex Reetz, Dunlap; 11. Corey Bosma, Ocheyedan; 12. Brian Schmitt, Wall Lake; 13. Stacey Mills, Webb; 14. Dustin Smith, Lake City; 15. Jason Briese, Cleghorn; 16. Mike Jergens, Plover; 17. Jeff Ste­phens, Arion; 18. Jon Plowman, Woodbine; 19. Ryan Ruter, Kanawha; 20. Justin Sackett, Pierson.

1st heat – 1. Kyle Brown; 2. Stephan; 3. Deal; 4. Fredericksen; 5. Alex Reetz; 6. Bosma; 7. David Brown. 2nd heat – 1. Jeremy Mills; 2. Abelson; 3. Ruter; 4. Stephens; 5. Briese; 6. Jergens; 7. Craig Reetz. 3rd heat – 1. Schmitt; 2. Smith; 3. Van Genderen; 4. Stacey Mills; 5. Plowman; 6. Sackett.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply