Deery drivers make rare visit to Kossuth County for July 2 show

Deery Brothers Summer Series

ALGONA, Iowa – The Deery Brothers Summer Series makes an early holiday weekend visit to Kossuth County Speedway for a Thursday, July 2 show.

The eighth of 18 events on the 2015 IMCA Late Model tour schedule pays $3,000 to win and a minimum of $300 to start.

Darrel DeFrance of Marshalltown has competed at all 441 events in Deery Series history and was the winner back on July 31, 2008, when the tour made its one previous appearance at Algona.

Pit gates and the grandstand both open at 5:30 p.m. Hot laps are at 7 p.m. with racing to follow.

Grandstand admission is $15 for adults with fans ages 16 and under free. Pit passes are $30.

Also running are Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Mach-1 Sport Compacts for all applicable points.

A driver meet and greet lunch will be held from 11 a.m.-2 p.m. at the Kossuth County Fair ag and racing museum parking lot, where cars will be on displayed. Live radio interviews with drivers will be broadcast throughout the day.

Fireworks follow the evening’s race program. More information is available at the website and on Facebook.

Next up for Deery drivers are events Tuesday, July 7 at West Liberty Raceway and Wednesday, July 8 at Independence Motor Speedway.

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Justin Kay, Wheatland, 326; 2. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo, 322; 3. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, 288; 4. Scott Fitzpatrick, Wheatland, 276; 5. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, 275; 6. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 270; 7. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove, 266; 8. John Emerson, Waterloo, 244; 9. Todd Malmstrom, Silvis, Ill., 241; 10. Jeremy Grady, Story City, 237; 11. Charlie McKenna, Clear Lake, 228; 12. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, 226; 13. Tyler Droste, Waterloo, 213; 14. Jason Rauen, Farley, 207; 15. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, 203; 16. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, 201; 17. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill., and Corey Zeitner, Omaha, Neb., both 198; 19. Brian Harris, Davenport, 151; 20. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher, 148.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply