Memorial Day show at I-35 next for IMCA Hawkeye Dirt Tour 

MASON CITY, Iowa – A very busy Memorial Holiday Weekend at I-35 Speedway con­cludes with the second installment of the IMCA Hawkeye Dirt Tour.

IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modifieds travel to Mason City to race for $1,000 to win and a mini­mum of $150 to start their Monday, May 25 main event.

IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Mach-1 Sport Compacts join the Modifieds on the Sunday, May 24 Skip Rose Memorial program at I-35 and on the Monday card.

Sunday’s Modified feature also pays $1,000 to win. Both Modified main events are qualifiers for the 2015 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.

Pit gates open at 4 p.m., the grandstand opens at 5 p.m. and racing follows 6 p.m. hot laps both days. Grandstand admission is $15 for adults, $5 for kids ages 6-12 and free for five and under. Family passes are $40 and pit passes are $30.

The four previous Hawkeye Dirt Tour events held at I-35 Speedway have resulted in as many differ­ent winners.

Richie Gustin of Gilman earned the first of his career series leading seven checkers in 2010. He was followed to victory lane by Josh Ruby of Lakota in 2011, Mike Hansen of Alton in 2012 and Tim Ward of Gilbert, Ariz., in 2014.

More information about Skip Rose Memorial and Hawkeye Dirt Tour shows at Mason City is available by calling 641 424-6515 or 515 320-0066, on the track’s web­site and on Facebook.

Monday’s program will be filmed in its entirety for IMCA.TV on Demand. Updated event coverage is listed at

North Dakota visitor Jason Wolla led defending champion Mike Van Genderen of Newton across the stripe in the May 19 tour opener at Benton County Speedway.

Hawkeye Dirt Tour top 20 point standings – 1. Jason Wolla, Ray, N.D., 40; 2. Mike Van Gen­deren, Newton, 39; 3. J.D. Auringer, Water­loo, 38; 4. Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo., 37; 5. Joe Docekal, Dysart, 36; 6. Mark Elliott, Webster City, 35; 7. Tyler Droste, Waterloo, 34; 8. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa, 33; 9. Ronn Lauritzen, Jesup, 32; 10. Kyle Brown, Kellogg, 31; 11. Scott Ho­gan, Vinton, 30; 12. Patrick Flannagan, Cedar Rapids, 29; 13. Mitch Morris, Long Grove, 28; 14. Ryan Maitland, Denver, 27; 15. Nick Roberts, Des Moines, 26; 16. Dennis Betzer, Central City, 25; 17. Cole Ferguson, Dexter, 24; 18. Todd Shute, Des Moines, 23; 19. Joel Rust, Grundy Cen­ter, 22; 20. Troy Cordes, Dunkerton, 21.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply