Benton County Speedway hosts May 12 opener for IMCA Hawkeye Dirt Tour

VINTON, Iowa (May 5) – The home track of the IMCA Modified division hosts the first event of the 2015 Hawkeye Dirt Tour next Tuesday, May 12.

IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modifieds following the sixth annual series race for $1,000 to win and a minimum of $150 to start the lidlifter at Benton County Speedway. The main event is a qualifier for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.

Four previous tour events have been held at Vinton and the winners of each – Vern Jackson of Waterloo (2011), Jeff Waterman of Quincy, Ill., (2012) Cayden Carter of Oskaloosa (2013) and Richie Gustin of Gilman (2014) have confirmed that they’ll return next week.

What promises to be a big opening night field will also include every driver to have won local track ti­tles at Benton County Speedway since 2002 as Jackson will be joined by fellow titlists J.D. Au­ringer of Waterloo, Troy Cordes of Dunkerton, Joe Docekal of Dysart and Scott Hogan of Vinton.

Gates open at 5 p.m. Tuesday with hot laps at 6:30 p.m. and racing at 7 p.m. Spectator admis­sion is $15 for adults, $5 for kids and free for five and under. Pit passes are $25.

IMCA Sunoco Stock Car and Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod features both pay $400 to win while IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks race for a $200 top check.

Modifieds chase IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, Belleville Motorsports North Central, Allstar Performance State and special series points. All applicable points will be awarded to Stock Car, SportMod and Hobby Stock drivers.

The event will be broadcast via IMCA.TV; listings will be posted on the website.

More information is available from promoter Mick Trier at 515 201-5526, by calling the IMCA home of­fice at 319 472-2201 and on Facebook. The track website is

Past series champions include Mike Jergens of Plover in 2010, Mark Elliott of Webster City in 2011, Jay Noteboom of Hinton in 2012, Ronn Lauritzen of Jesup in 2013 and Mike Van Genderen of Newton last year.

Gustin leads all drivers win seven career victories on the circuit.

Two hundred and nineteen different drivers from 13 states and Canada competed over the course of the 2014 series.

The second of 10 dates on this year’s HDT schedule is Monday, May 25 at I-35 Speedway in Mason City.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply