Early entries for IMCA’s Duel In The Desert already top 100

LAS VEGAS, Nev. – More than 100 early entries are already in hand for the Nov. 12-15 IMCA Duel In The Desert special at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

The 17th annual event brings IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modifieds back to the Entertainment Capital of the World for a $7,777 to win, minimum $777 to start Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifying main event on Saturday, Nov. 15 on the half-mile Dirt Track.

Two preliminary features Thurs­day, Nov. 13 and on Friday, Nov. 14 each pay $777 to win.

Saturday’s top prize for Karl Chevrolet North­ern SportMods and Scoggin-Dickey Parts Center Southern SportMods has been raised to $1,777.

Those divisions will compete in the same races with their existing 2014 rules; qualifying features on Thursday and Friday will pay $500 to win.

Eighty-three Modified drivers from 20 states and two Canadian provinces have already pre-entered for the Duel, as have 32 SportMod drivers from nine states and Canada.

Advance entry fees paid by Oct. 31 are $200 for Modifieds and $150 for SportMods; entry fees after that date are $250 for the Modifieds and $200 for SportMods.

Pit parking for pre-registered drivers is from noon-8 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 11. Gates open again for all drivers at 9 a.m. the next day and practice begins at 4 p.m.

The grandstand opens at 4 p.m. and racing starts at 5 p.m. Wednesday through Saturday. Heat races, “B” features and qualifying features are on the card Thursday and Friday; the EQ Cylinder Heads Wild West Tour Top 20 Showdown is also part of the Friday program.

Last-chance races and Modified Young Guns and Legends precede Saturday’s main events. The SportMod feature is 25 laps and the Modified feature is 40 laps.

Weekend pit passes are $120, one-day pit passes are $45 and ATV/golf cart passes are $30. Pit spots in the first three rows must be reserved; all other pit area parking is free.

Tech inspection begins at 9 a.m. Wednesday, at 8 a.m. Thursday and at noon Friday and Saturday.

More information is availa­ble by calling 702 632-8213 and at the www.LVMS.com/dirt/racers web­site.

Modified entries have been received from Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Montana, Ne­braska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Ore­gon, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming, as well as Alberta and British Columbia.

Pre-entered Modified drivers include:

Ricky Alvarado, Delta, Colo.; Shawn Anderson, Minot, N.D.; Sherman Barnett, El Paso, Texas; Jason Beaulieu, Campbell River, B.C.; Tom Berry Jr., Medford, Ore.; Scott Bintz, Jamestown, N.D.; Roger Bonneville, Calgary, Alb.; Chris Brown, Abilene, Texas; Randy Brown, Chowchilla, Calif.; and Chuck Buchanan, Helper, Utah;

Kellen Chadwick, Oakley, Calif.; David Childress, Bakersfield, Calif.; Cory Davis, Eunice, N.M.; Casey Delp, Rock Springs, Wyo.; Heath Denney, West Jordan, Utah; Zane DeVilbiss, Farmington, N.M.; Don Earven, Globe, Ariz.; Mark Elliott, Webster City, Iowa; Rick Fierro, Cheyenne, Wyo.; and Troy Foulger, Oakley, Calif.;

Cody Gearhart, Turpin, Okla.; Christy Georges, El Paso, Texas; Joe German, Aberdeen, Wash.; Royce Goetz, Dayton, Nev.; Cody Grabbe, Yuma, Ariz.; Jordan Grabouski, Beatrice, Neb.; Travis Graves, Wolfforth, Texas; Michael Hale, West Valley City, Utah; Chase Hansen, Myton, Utah; Kenny Hawkins, Globe, Ariz.; and Kyle Heckman, Bakersfield, Calif.;

Bob Heffer, Swift Current, Sask.; Ryan Heger, Hugoton, Kan.; Zach Hensley, Green River, Wyo.; Nick Herrera, Ruidoso Downs, N.M.; Roger Holder, Bakersfield, Calif.; Stephen Hopf, Gilroy, Calif.; Rich Horibe, Pahrump, Nev.; Bobby Horton, Yuma, Ariz.; Robert Ireland, Forest Grove, Ore.; and Ben Kates, Tonganoxie, Kan.;

Raymond Keldsen, Aromas, Calif.; Kurt Kile, Nichols, Iowa; Quentin Kinzley, Bismarck, N.D.; Kenny Kirkpatrick, Nipomo, Calif.; Brian Levander, Grand Island, Neb.; Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo.; Ryan McDaniel, Olivehurst, Calif.; Troy McElroy, Shady Grove, Ore.; Travis Metz, Blackfoot, Idaho; and Matt Mitchell, Vancouver, Wash.;

Mike Mullen, Suamico, Wis.; David Murray Jr., Oberlin, Kan.; Mark Murray, Delta, Utah; Lawrence O’Connor, Port Hardy, B.C.; Vince Ogle, Lubbock, Texas; Jeremy Payne, Nixa, Mo.; Reed Payne, Idaho Falls, Idaho; Travis Peery, Williston, N.D.; Jim Perkins, Williams, Ariz.; Mike Petersilie, Hoisington, Kan.; and Terry Phillips, Springfield, Mo.;

Ryan Porter, Atwater, Calif.; Tom Purcell, Carson City, Nev.; Chris Quinn, St. Helens, Ore.; Chett Reeves, Bakersfield, Calif.; Jesse Richter, Great Bend, Kan.; Kyle Rohleder, WaKeeney, Kan.; Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice, Neb.; Todd Shute, Des Moines, Iowa; Steve Simpson Jr., Kingman, Ariz.; and Jesse Sobbing, Glenwood, Iowa;

Alex Stanford, Chowchilla, Calif.; Tony Steward, Bozeman, Mont.; Shawn Strand, Mandan, N.D.; Jeff Streeter, Madera, Calif.; Steve Streeter, Madera, Calif.; Mickey Stubbings, Helper, Utah; Jeff Taylor, Cave City, Ark.; Dominic Ursetta, Arvada, Colo.; Chad Wheeler, Muskogee, Okla.; R.C. Whitwell, Tucson, Ariz.; and Spencer Wilson, Minot, N.D.

SportMod entries are in hand from Arizona, California, Iowa, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, Texas and Wyoming, plus Alberta.

Pre-entered SportMod drivers are

Cody Brown, Chowchilla, Calif.; Sean Callens, Brawley, Calif.; Chuck Delp, Rock Springs, Wyo.; Rick Diaz, Los Banos, Calif.; Ethan Dotson, Bakersfield, Calif.; Wayne Dotson, Bakersfield, Calif.; Tyler Fain, Abilene, Texas; Merl Fitzpatrick, Brooks, Alb.; Tyler Frye, Belleville, Kan.; Dennis Gates, Claypool, Ariz.; and Nate Ginest, Great Bend, Kan.;

Shawn Harker, Nebraska City, Neb.; Brian Heard, Hobbs, N.M.; Shane Helton, Artesia, N.M.; Brylon Holder, Bakersfield, Calif.; Jeff Hooker, Minot, N.D.; Jeramy Hughes, Farmington, N.M.; Erik Laudenschlager, Surrey, N.D.; Matt Mayo. Bakersfield, Calif.; Dustin Morgan, Williston, N.D.; and Miles Morris, Yuma, Ariz.;

Blain Petersen, Essex, Iowa; Bentley Pywell, Palco, Kan.; John Reid, Loving, N.M.; Loni Richardson, Paris, Texas; Alan Riley, Florence, Mont.; Chipita Rowley, Roosevelt, Utah; Austin Ruskauff, Santa Maria, Calif.; Fred Ryland, Brentwood, Calif.; Justin Shaw, Sweetwater, Texas; Jake Upchurch, Grand Priaire, Texas; and Sam Wieben, Dysart, Iowa.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply