Kay seeks third straight checkers at Independence Deery

INDEPENDENCE, Iowa (July 30) – Point leader Justin Kay has already won three times this sea­son to match his 2013 Deery Brothers Summer Series total.

He’ll try to equal his personal best of three straight feature wins when the IMCA Late Model tour travels to Independence Motor Speedway next Wednesday, Aug. 6.

Kay won for the first time in his brief Deery career at Independence last year, then followed with wins at Davenport and West Liberty.

He won at East Moline this May, then again on July 8 at West Liberty and July 13 at Dubuque.

The upcoming feature at Independence pays $3,000 to win and a minimum of $300 to start. Pit gates and the grandstand both open at 5 p.m. Hot laps are at 6:45 p.m. with racing to follow.

Spectator admission is $15 for adults, $12 for seniors and students and free for kids 11 and under when accompanying a paid adult. Pit passes are $30.

Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods run for $600 to win plus IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Rac­ing National and Allstar Performance State points at Independence. IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks chase a $400 top check and earn national, Big Daddy Race Cars Northern Region and state points.

More information is available by calling 319 361-3795 or 319 334-9287 on race day. The track website is www.independencemotorspeedway.com.

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Justin Kay, Wheatland, 382; 2. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, 370; 3. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, 347; 4. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, 329; 5. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, 325; 6. Jason Rauen, Farley, 299; 7. Brian Harris, Davenport, 287; 8. Scott Fitzpatrick, Urbandale, 285; 9. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 282; 10. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill., 278; 11. Matt Ryan, Davenport, 267; 12. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, 244; 13. Jeremy Grady, Story City, 209; 14. Tommy Elston, Keokuk, 200; 15. Nate Beuseling, Silvis, Ill., 189; 16. Rob Moss, Iowa City, 181; 17. Colby Springsteen, Wapello, 172; 18. Spencer Diercks, Davenport, 164; 19. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin, 161; 20. Jay Johnson, West Burlington, 140.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply