Marshalltown Speedway celebrates 50th on The Fourth

By Jeremy Fox

MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa (July 4) – Marshalltown Speedway celebrated its 50th anniversary with fireworks and visits by dignitaries of the track’s racing history Friday night.

Luke Wanninger took over the IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modified lead on lap 11 and drove to his fourth win here in 2014. Ronn Lauritzen worked his way up to finish second. Tyler Droste was third, Tony Snyder was fourth and Joel Rust was fifth.

Dave Atcher held Donavon Smith at bay over the last eight laps to win the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature.
Clint Luellen inherited the lead when mechanical problems sidelined Jenae Gustin Luellen and held off several challenges from Andy Tiernan over the last four circuits to take his fifth Big Eight Tyre Center IMCA Northern SportMod win of the year at Marshalltown.

After capitalizing on a late restart, Eric Stanton sped to his third local IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock victory of the season.

David Moorman led start to finish in the Mach-1 Sport Compact main.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply