Duffy declares Red, White and Blue victory at 141

By Greg and Amber Aregoni

FRANCIS CREEK, Wis. (July 5) – Darin Duffy solidified his rankings in the Red, White, and Blue Series with his IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modified feature win at 141 Saturday night.
Duffy pulled away late in the contest to a $1,000 payday and most importantly, took over the lead in the series at 141.

The feature kicked off with an unfortunate bang as a melee resulted in the front of the field. Thirteen cars were involved in the red-flag incident and point leader Benji LaCrosse, among others, was not able to continue.
When the race restarted, Eric Mahlik found his way in front of the field with Duffy behind. Sean Jerovetz ran to the front after a three-wide pass for the lead including Mahlik and Duffy. Shawn Kilgore made his way to second five laps into the event with Duffy dropping back to fourth.

A caution on lap 12 waved as the front four were battling for the lead. On the restart, Duffy charged from fourth to second and moved outside Jerovetz for the lead. Jerovetz stayed strong down low but could not fend off Duffy.
Duffy took charge with three laps remaining and pulled away for the victory. Kilgore ran to a late-race second. Johnny Whitman was involved in the opening lap imbroglio and came from the back to third. Jerovetz faded to fourth on the last lap with Mahlik fifth.

Duffy was already on the ballot for the 2014 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.
Cody Schroeder earned his first career Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod feature win while Larry Karcz Jr. ruled the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car ranks.

Feature results – 1. Darin Duffy; 2. Shawn Kilgore; 3. Johnny Whitman; 4. Sean Jerovetz; 5. Eric Mah­lik; 6. Josh Long; 7. Brad Lautenbach; 8. R.M. Van Pay; 9. Jeremy Jacobs; 10. T.J. Smith; 11. Tim Czarneski; 12. Randy Markwardt Jr.; 13. Lance Arneson; 14. James Tebon; 15. Daniel Deau; 16. Shawn Frelich; 17. Dave Zeitler; 18. Tyler Hackett; 19. Tony Wedelstadt; 20. Benji La­Crosse; 21. Mark Joski.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply