Cotton Bowl, HO’T shows bring curtain down on IMCA Lone Star Series

PAIGE, Texas – A fan appreciation night program and two Texas Nationals shows bring the curtain down on IMCA’s Lone Star Series.

IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modifieds, IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Scoggin-Dickey Parts Center Southern SportMods and IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks are in action Thursday, July 3 at Cotton Bowl Speedway in Paige and Friday and Saturday, July 4 and 5 at Heart O’ Texas Speedway in Waco.

The top driver in points in each division for the final three nights of the series get $250 bonuses.

A kids’ bicycle giveaway is in the works at Cotton Bowl, where fireworks and a Cody McCarver concert follow the races.

Winner’s shares of the purses at Paige are $450 for the Modifieds, $425 for the Southern SportMods, $300 for the Stock Cars and $200 for the Hobby Stocks.
Gates to the pit area open at 4 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 5 p.m. Hot laps are at 6 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m.

Spectator admission is $15 for adults, $12 for seniors, military personnel with ID and students and free for five and under. Pit passes are $30.
Information about the Cotton Bowl program is available by calling 512 748-4218 and at the website.

Lone Star Series shows July 4 and 5 do double duty as the Texas Nationals.

Both Modified features at Waco pay $1,000 to win and are qualifiers for the 2014 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot. SportMod features pay $750 to win, Stock Car features pay $600 and Hobby Stock features $400.

Pit gates and the grandstand open at 6 p.m. Friday. Hot laps are at 7:15 p.m. and racing starts at 8 p.m.

On Saturday, gates and the grandstand open at 5 p.m. Hot laps are at 7:15 p.m. with racing at 8 p.m.

Grandstand admission each day is $12 for adults, $10 for seniors, military personnel with ID and students, $5 for kids ages 6-12 and free for five and under. Pit passes are $25.

More information is available by calling 254 291-1836 and at the website.

Series Director Selby Holder and officials from the IMCA home office will be in attendance at all three events.

Top 10 Point Standings

Lone Star Series for Modifieds – 1. Keith White, Little River Academy, 187; 2. Josh McGaha, Abilene, 182; 3. J.P. Dowell, Killeen, 164; 4. Chad Melton, Springtown, 157; 5. Glen Hibbard, Euless, 131; 6. Ben Ketteman, Pflugerville, 125; 7. Chris Elliott, Abilene, 113; 8. Ronnie Welborn, Princeton, 109; 9. Joe Spillman, Marble Falls, 105; 10. Cory Davis, Eunice, N.M., 93.

Wild Child Race Cars Series for Stock Cars – 1. Gabe Tucker, Carbon, 185; 2. Jason Batt, Harker Heights, 175; 3. Kirk Martin, Weatherford, 163; 4. Matt Guillaume, Haslet, 145; 5. Tristan Carman, Killeen, 139; 6. Colby Dem­ing, Hobbs, N.M., 122; 7. Michael Sheen, Lamesa, 114; 8. Jason Adcock, San Angelo, 109; 9. Dennis Bissonnette, Stephenville, 102; 10. Tyler Muirhead, Mabank, 101.

Lone Star Series for Hobby Stocks – 1. Jeremy Oliver, Chilton, 141; 2. Brock Beeter, Minot, N.D., 111; 3. Eric Stan­ton, Carlisle, Iowa, 110; 4. Mike Watkins, Hawley, 106; 5. Rodney Sparks, Hawley, 103; 6. Brad King, Parshall, N.D., 101; 7. April Phillips, Abilene, 100; 8. Gerald Spalding Jr., Abilene, 96; 9. Andrew Sebastian, Minot, N.D., 89; 10. Jamie Herring, Killeen, 87.

Southwest Racing Specialties Series for Southern SportMods – 1. Gabe Tucker, Carbon, 185; 2. Jake Upchurch, Grand Prairie, 168; 3. Justin Cass, Abilene, 154; 4. Justin Long, Haslet, 153; 5. Allen Montgomery, Fort Worth, 145; 6. Jeffrey Abbey, Comanche, 138; 7. Cory Williams, Slaton, 111; 8. Brad Shirley, Springtown, 108; 9. G.W. Egbert IV, Belton, 107; 10. Randy Doyle, Killeen, 101.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply