Deery Series heads to Independence for pre-holiday show

INDEPENDENCE, Iowa (June 25) – Still looking for a repeat winner this season, the Deery Broth­ers Summer Series heads to Independence for a pre-holiday show next Tuesday, July 1.

IMCA Late Models contend for $3,000 to win and a minimum of $300 to start. Pit gates and the grandstand at Indee both open at 5 p.m. Hot laps are at 6:45 p.m. with racing to follow.

Spectator admission is $15 for adults, $12 for seniors and students and free for kids 11 and under when accompanying a paid adult. Pit passes are $30.

The first six tour events of 2014 have produced as many different winners, the most recent of them Jeff Aikey last night at Marshalltown Speedway.

Point leader Justin Kay, Andy Eckrich, Colby Springsteen, Terry Neal and Ray Guss Jr. have also raced their way to victory lane.

Twenty-six previous Deery events have been held at Independence. Kay earned his first series career victory there last July to end the record-tying string of four straight wins by eventual cham­pion Brian Harris.

Hometown pilot Curt Martin leads all drivers with six career Independence Deery wins. Aikey has won there on four occasions.

Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods run for $500 to win plus IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Rac­ing National and Allstar Performance State points at Independence. IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks chase a $300 top check and earn national, Big Daddy Race Cars Northern Region and state points.

More information is available by calling 319 361-3795 or 319 334-9287 on race day. The track website is

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Justin Kay, Wheatland, 282; 2. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, 277; 3. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, 260; 4. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, 248; 5. Jason Rauen, Farley, 244; 6. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, 243; 7. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 240; 8. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill., 223; 9. Matt Ryan, Davenport, 215; 10. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, 213; 11. Scott Fitzpatrick, Long Grove, 206; 12. Brian Harris, Davenport, 203; 13. Tommy Elston, Keokuk, 165; 14. Jeremy Grady, Story City, 140; 15. Terry Neal, Ely, 134; 16. Colby Springsteen, Wapello, 129; 17. John Emerson, Waterloo, 127; 18. Ronald Klein, Sherrill, and Spencer Diercks, Davenport, both 126; 20. Nate Beuseling, Silvis, Ill., 118.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply