Malmstrom breaks through for Davenport Late Model win

By Mike McGuire

DAVENPORT, Iowa (June 6) – Friday was a great night for racing at the Davenport Speedway with over one hundred cars in the pit area. The evening’s racing program was sponsored by Kile Motorsports.

It was also a great night for Todd Malmstrom of Silvis, Illinois. Malmstrom won both his heat and feature races in the Petersen Plumbing and Heating IMCA Late Model division. The feature victory was his first-ever at Davenport.

The 25-lap main started with Mike Garland jumping out to an early lead. On lap seven, Garland’s engine let go and Spencer Diercks inherited the lead. Malmstrom caught Diercks and the lead duo swapped the lead on five consecutive laps.

Malmstrom finally took the lead for good on lap 18 and go on to take the checkers. Diercks took second with Mike Murphy Jr. third, Ray Guss Jr. fourth and Brunson Behning fifth.

Kelly Meyer dominated the Milan Heating and Air IMCA Modified feature. Meyer rocketed from his second row starting spot to the lead on lap one and never looked back, leading all 20 laps of the caution-free race.

Chris Zogg started sixth and finished second. Bob Dominacki had to qualify through the “B” feature and raced to third place. Matt Werner and Jake Bowman were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Doug Burkhead made it back-to-back feature wins in the Hawkeye Auto IMCA Northern SportMod class. Burkhead led all 15 laps of the race. Bryce Garnhart came from mid-pack to finish second. Jake Morris, Dustin Crear, and Joe Grant rounded out the top five.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply