Great Plains Series Stock Cars return to WaKeeney on Memorial Day

WAKEENEY, Kan. – The seventh installment of the Dirt Track Central Jax Sports Grille Great Plains Series takes touring IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars back to WaKeeney Speedway on Memorial Day.
The Monday, May 26 main event pays $750 to win.

WaKeeney opens the pit gates at 3:30 p.m. and the grandstand at 4:30 p.m. Hot laps follow the 5 p.m. drivers’ meeting with racing at 6:30 p.m.

Spectator admission is $10 for adults, $5 for kids ages 6-12 and free for five and under. Pit passes are $25.

Completing the holiday card are IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modifieds, Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks, Mach-1 Sport Compacts and 305 sprint cars.

More information is available by calling 785 650-1551 and at the website.

Point leader Mike Nichols has won four of the first seven series events, including the March 30 race at WaKeeney. Final tour dates are Aug. 3 at Dawson County Raceway and Sept. 19 at Thunder Hill Speedway.

Great Plains Series Top 20 point standings – 1. Mike Nichols, Harlan, Iowa, 249; 2. Jason Rogers, Selden, Kan., 234; 3. Perry Misner, Garden City, Kan., 220; 4. Angel Munoz, Lamar, Colo., 218; 5. Nick Tubbs, Colby, Kan., 198; 6. Kyle Clough, Wallace, Neb., 182; 7. Casey Woken, Ogallala, Neb., 178; 8. Justin Temeyer, Independence, Iowa, 166; 9. Michael Pepper, Lakin, Kan., 151; 10. Kyle Vanover, Beatrice, Neb., 122; 11. Lance Borgman, Beatrice, Neb., 116; 12. B.J. Wagoner, Colby, Kan., 105; 13. Jeff Tubbs, Colby, Kan., 103; 14. Scot Granzella, Salina, Kan., 102; 15. Tyler Tipton, Weskan, Kan., 71; 16. Chad Borgman, Beatrice, Neb., 69; 17. Randy Dowell, Ulysses, Kan., 66; 18. Jason McIntyre, Colby, Kan., 65; 19. John D. Sieg, Williston, N.D., 62; 20. Jason Davis, Norton, Kan., 60.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply