Smith wins a thriller at Marshalltown

By Jeremy Fox

MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa (May 16) – Donavon Smith was the seventh different leader and won a thriller Friday on Casey’s General Stores and Old Timers Lounge Night at Marshalltown Speedway.

Nate Thelen and then Robbie Merkle were early leaders in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car main. Don Vis inherited the lead but Steve Meyer took the lead away on lap three. Meyer bobbled and that allowed Michael Jaennette to sneak by.

Jaennette began to pull away only to see the caution come out just after the completion of lap nine. Jaennette had to contend with Brian Irvine and Meyer but it was Smith taking the lead away on lap 13. Smith led until lap 16 when Irvine got by, but then Irvine slipped up and let Smith get back by to take the win.
Meyer also got by Irvine for second at the line.

Richie Gustin Jr. was the IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modified feature winner. Clint Luellen captured the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod checkers and Austin Luellen’s lap 10 pass paved the way for his IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock victory.

John Gill started right where he left off the week before in the Mach-1 Sport Compact feature and that was out front. Gill would lead all eight laps to take his second win of the season.

Next Friday Night, Marshalltown Speedway kick off the Memorial Day Weekend with Midwest Liquid Systems and Salute to Military Night at the Races. It all gets underway with hot laps at 6:45 p.m. and racing at 7:30 p.m.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply