Repeat Stock Car win for Smith at Algona

By Greg Grabianowski

ALGONA, Iowa (May 3) – David Smith took the lead with three laps left and drove to his second straight IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature win Saturday night at Algona Raceway.

Pole starter David Wickman was the early leader before John Wiemann grabbed the lead on lap three.

A four-car breakaway and door-to-door battle by David Smith, Kevin Opheim, Derek Green and Wiemann ensued until with three laps to go, Smith took the lead and went onto the victory for the second straight week.

The 10th starting Green ended up second with Wiemann taking third, Opheim fourth and Devin Smith fifth.

Clay Evans on the pole never gave up the top spot in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main. Jer­emy Wegner was the fourth and final leader in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature, passing Aus­tin Hauswirth on the final circuit.

Mike Jergens got the IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modified feature victory after post-race disqualifica­tion of the apparent winner.

Nate Coopman earned his second local feature win of the season after starting on the outside of row four in the Mach-1 Sport Compact feature.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply