Championships determined tonight at Salina

By Dusty Wiegert

SALINA, Kan. (Sept. 27) – A full season has been nearly completed for the third straight year at the Salina Speedway as tonight’s (Friday) championship night showcases a long summer of achieve­ments with the crowning of six out of seven division champions.

Joe Cleveland will capture his second championship in a row in the IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modified division by starting his heat race. The battle will be for second as Corey Lagroon and Brian Knoell are separated by only one point.

Mike Traskowsky is looking forward to capturing his second championship in three years in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock division. Aaron McBride, his closest contender, is still within striking distance, but would need to finish 14 positions in front of Traskowsky to capture the title.

One IMCA driver has such a huge lead that he actually wrapped up the points title last week. Ty­ler Frye capped off a dominant season last week and will easily be the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod champion.

The closest points battle exists in the Late Model division where only four points separate team­mates looking for the win. Delbert Smith looks to put away his second championship in a row but will have to hold off Darrick Klima, who would need to finish five positions ahead of Smith to win the title.

Young gun Brian Dunsworth will likely capture the title in the Mini Stock division by starting his heat race. Stacey Huffman is still mathematically able to pass Dunsworth but only if he were una­ble to start the heat or feature as she sits twenty-four points back.

By starting his heat race Justin Kinderknecht will capture his second championship in three years in the Mod Lite division.

Last week saw the first of seven champions crowned as Duane Toyne captured the Street Stock title. The division will be in action tonight, but not for points only a fun money race.

Hot laps are scheduled to start at 7:15 p.m. with racing to follow.

Admission for adults is $12 while kids 17 and under are free. Pit passes are $25.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply