Everything is right for White in IMCA Lone Star Tour opener at Kennedale

Paul White was the winner in his first IMCA Sunoco Stock Car outing, on opening night Saturday in the Lone Star Tour at Kennedale Speedway Park. (Photo by Mike Frieri)

KENNEDALE, Texas (March 4) – When Paul White was asked last fall if he’d be interested in driving an IMCA Sunoco Stock Car, his answer, of course, was a resounding “Sure!”

On Saturday, the questions he was answering were all about his first win in the class, on opening night of the Sunoco Race Fuels Lone Star Tour presented by Sniper Speed at Kennedale Speedway Park.

“That was my first time in a Stock Car. It wasn’t a bad night to get my first win,” White said after leading the last half of the 30-lapper and taking the $1,000 checkers. “I was just tickled about it.”

He’d started 11th and passed Shelby Williams for the lead following a restart at midway.

White had raced Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds, IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars and most recently a Smiley’s Racing Products IMCA Southern SportMod. 

“My car owners P.J. Kingrey and Adam Schwartz talked me into this,” said White, who didn’t need much convincing to saddle up in the new class. “They asked if they sold their factory stock and bought an I-Stock, would I be interested in driving it. I said yes.”

White needed just 10 laps to move up to second. Willams was in the runner-up spot until breaking and rolling to a stop on the backstretch on lap 21. 

The new B & B Racing Chassis All-Star Invitational candidate was scored ahead of 14th starting Cody Smith and 13th starting and defending series champion Jason Rogers. Demetrius Carter started 14th and finished fourth and Lance Hanson Jr. was fifth. 

Jake Upchurch, already eligible to qualify for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational, took the $1,000 Friesen Performance IMCA Modified victory ahead of very familiar foes William Gould and Jacob Pirkle. 

And Cody Smith’s $750 Smiley’s Racing Products IMCA Southern SportMod came with Vinny Rabozzi and 15th starting Rowdy Day in pursuit. 

Fifty-one entries from a dozen states vied on what became opening night of the tour after Friday’s scheduled show fell to inclement weather. 

Feature results – 1. Paul White; 2. Cody Smith; 3. Jason Rogers; 4. Demetrius Carter; 5. Lance Hanson Jr.; 6. Jesse Sobbing; 7. Trevor Egbert; 8. Mike Albertsen; 9. George Egbert III; 10. Angel Munoz; 11. Thomas Hall Jr.; 12. G.W. Egbert IV; 13. Kyle Genett; 14. Dean Abbey; 15. Shelby Williams; 16. Michael Dabney; 17. Dylan Moss; 18. Anthony Slaney; 19. Brandon McElroy; 20. Aaron Benedict.