Benton County Speedway hosts Urbana 5 Memorial this Sunday

VINTON, Iowa (July 5, 2022) – Five young race fans will be remembered this Sunday, July 10 when Benton County Speedway hosts the Urbana 5 Memorial.

“We work very hard each year to forever keep the memory of Nikki, Quentin, Triston, Hunter and Zoey alive. They passed away on April 9, 2015 in a car accident. What better way to honor them than organizing something they would love, a dirt track race,” said race committee member Brittany Usher. “This race is also to raise awareness for the Iowa Donor Network. All five families of the Urbana 5, chose for them to be donors and they have helped hundreds of people with their gifts. We honor many other people who have given the ultimate gift as well.”

Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMods are the headline division at the eighth annual special, running for $2,300 to win. Friesen Performance IMCA Modifieds run for $1,300 to win and Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational qualifying eligibility, IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars for $1,750 and B & B Racing Chassis All-Star qualifying eligibility.

The IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock winner takes home $800 while both the Mach-1 IMCA Sport Compact and Legends winners earn $400.

Contributions from track and event sponsors have added to payouts for feature winners as well as purse shares for drivers finishing second through fifth in each division. Three drivers in each feature will win random draws for extra pay.

Anyone who wants to contribute to the purse can Venmo to Urbana5MemorialRace. PayPal (@angelltia) and cashapp ($4915angell) are also available. Checks can be mailed to Urbana 5 Memorial at 407 E 2nd Street, Vinton, Iowa, 52349.

A hard charger award will also be given in each division and a $200 longest tow award paid to the driver traveling the furthest to compete that day. 

IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, regional and KMJ Performance State will be awarded for the draw/redraw show and drivers can pay $10 to try to improve their draw as many as three times. 

The Iowa Donor Network will be represented at the speedway and will receive proceeds from the 50/50 drawing. A helmet pass will be held during pre-race ceremonies with money received going toward next year’s event. 

Door prizes for adults purchasing grandstand admission while kids get a candy bag at the door along with a ticket to fill out and put in a bucket to win a bike. 

Pit passes are $30 adults and $15 for ages 14 and under. Spectator admission is $15 for adults, $13 for seniors and veterans, $5 for kids ages 6-14 and free for five and under.

Racing starts at 6 p.m. Sunday.

Other memorial race committee members are Tia Tuttle, Heather Tuttle, Tammy Zimmerman, Jacob Tuttle and Shawn Usher.