Dotson rolls to fourth IMCA.TV Winter Nationals win, Alves, Murty, Brown, Clem take Thursday checkers, too

Shelby Alves was the winner of a fast-paced and caution-free 25-lap main event for IMCA Northern SportMods at Cocopah Speedway’s IMCA.TV Winter Nationals. (Photo by Bobby McMorris)

By Ben Deatherage  

SOMERTON, Ariz. (Jan 13) – The Ethan Dotson Express rolled on, while Shelby Alves, Dallon Murty, Brian Brown and Riley Clem raced to IMCA.TV Winter Nationals presented by Yuma Insurance feature wins of their own Thursday night at Cocopah Speedway. 

Dotson dominated the entire 25-lap IMCA Modified main event, hitting lapped traffic by the 10th circuit and outrunning Tripp Gaylord in what proved to be a caution-free contest en route to a fourth consecutive $1,000 victory. 

Tim Ward settled into third. Tanner Black and night one winner Kollin Hibdon completed the top five. 

The 25-lap IMCA Northern SportMod feature was also a non-stop event. Alves and night four winner Shane Paris duked it out early with Alves in front on lap four. 

She paced the field with Andrew Peckham giving chase into lapped traffic before becoming the fifth different $750 winner in as many nights at Somerton. Izac Mallicoat was third.

Cody Johnson and Josh Most battled at the front of the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature field before making brief contact and watching Murty, in the Leslie Gill owned entry, scoot past.    

Most got the lead right back but Murty stayed close the next 14 times around the oval. The front pair swapped the lead, with Murty regaining the front spot on the final lap to win his IMCA.TV Winter Nationals debut.

Bo Partain beat Most for second at the wire.

The IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock main event was all about Zack Tate in the early going, as he cruised around the track and hit lapped traffic at midway. Several cautions negated that advantage, with Brown challenging on the high side and moving to the front on lap 14.

After one more restart, Brown traversed the Diamond In The Desert to win his second Winter Nationals feature and $500. Jason Duggins placed second and Dillon Richards raced from 20th starting to third.

The IMCA STARS Mod Lites made their Winter Nationals debut and Zac Forster paced the 20-lap main event before being overtaken by Clem on lap three. 

The only thing that slowed down Clem was a pair of stoppages around halfway. He went on to score his first victory of 2022 ahead of Collin Bender and Forster 

Friday, Jan. 14 and Saturday, Jan 15 shows bring the IMCA.TV Winter Nationals to a close, with the Modifieds, Stock Cars, Northern SportMods, Hobby Stocks and STARS Mod Lites on both cards.

Yoshimura bonuses of $250, $150 and $100, respectively, will be awarded to top three STARS Mod Lite finishers Saturday night.                                                                                                                              

Feature Results

Modifieds – 1. Ethan Dotson; 2. Tripp Gaylord; 3. Tim Ward; 4. 44T-Tanner Black; 5. Kollin Hibdon; 6. Bricen James; 7. Grey Ferrando; 8. Austen Becerra; 9. Jeremy Mills; 10. Jerry Flippo; 11. Russell Allen; 12. Justen Yeager; 13. Braxton Yeager; 14. Jerad Fuller; 15. Mike McKinney; 16. Kyle Heckman; 17. Chaz Baca; 18. Bobby Hogge IV; 19. Aaron Elwess; 20. Ken Schrader; 21. Vinny Raucci Jr.; 22. Ryan Roath; 23. Brady Bjella; 24. Devin Fouquette; 25. Brandon Farrington; 26. Austin Kuehl; 27. Cody Thompson.  

Stock Cars – 1. Dallon Murty; 2. Bo Partain; 3. Josh Most; 4. Shelby Williams; 5. Zach Madrid; 6. Brock Badger; 7. Paul Stone; 8. Jim Horejsi; 9. Rick Diaz; 10. Chanse Hollatz; 11. Miciah Hidlebaugh; 12. Kevin Roberts; 13. Jason Doyle; 14. Cody Johnson; 15. Tim Gonska; 16. Joe Schmit; 17. Dan Menk; 18. Nate Warren; 19. Rob Gallaher; 20. Nicholas Johnson; 21. Tony Hill; 22. Chris McCurdy Jr.; 23. Cody Williams; 24. Scott Sluka; 25. Andrew Burg; 26. Andrew Altenburg. 

Northern SportMods – 1. Shelby Alves; 2. Andrew Peckham; 3. Izac Mallicoat; 4. Shane Paris; 5. Fred Ryland; 6. Andrew Pearce; 7. Ryan Peery; 8. Chris Toth; 9. Jacob Mallet Jr.; 10. Brock Beeter; 11. Michael Johnson; 12. Ty Rogers; 13. Tate Johnson 14. Jayson Aldridge; 15. David Siercks; 16. Jake Triska; 17. Matt Ruf; 18. Danny Concelman; 19. Christopher Frisbie; 20. Matthew Mayo; 21. David Pitt; 22. Jesse Johnson; 23. John Rebstock; 24. Chase Alves; 25. Brian Carey; 26. Mark Martini.  

Hobby Stocks – 1. Brian Brown; 2. Jason Duggins; 3. Dillon Richards; 4. Brandon Bombardo; 5. Nathan Deragon; 6. Brycen Daffern; 7. Joe Peterson; 8. Chandler Dodge; 9. Matt Olson; 10. Brian Johnson; 11. Jim Robinson; 12. Zack Tate; 13. Nick Posey; 14. Yancy Shupe; 15. Bobby Horton; 16. Andy Pearce; 17. Tory Harazin; 18. Mark Merlen; 19. Scott Herron; 20. Tanner Weins; 21. Bobby Gallaher; 22. Thomas Daffern; 23. Joshua Cordova; 24. Darren Sage.

Mod Lites – 1. Riley Clem; 2. Collin Bender; 3. Zac Forster; 4. J.D. Brown; 5. Sean Conyers; 6. Gary DeWitt; 7. Tim Varney; 8. Corey Lowe; 9. Darrick Knutsen; 10. Kathy Fitz; 11. Brandi Myers; 12. Tyler Wilson; 13. Parker Cherry; 14. Jon Stringfellow; 15. Derrick Pyeatt; 16. Zander Keeland; 17. Richard Kemp; 18. Shane Balser.