Mather Takes B & B Chassis All-Star Qualifier on Crawford Farms Night at Indee

Cole Mather scored the $750 B & B Chassis All-Star Invitational feature win for IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars Saturday at Independence Motor Speedway. (Photo by Black Hat Photography)

By Jeremy Fox

INDEPENDENCE, Iowa (June 19) – Cole Mather was the big IMCA Sunoco Stock Car winner on Crawford Farms Hall of Fame Night at Independence Motor Speedway.

Adam Johnson led the opening lap of the 20-lap B & B Chassis All-Star Invitational qualifier, which featured a top prize of $750 courtesy of J&V NAPA Auto Parts. Mather took the top spot away on lap two, fending off Johnson and Dustin Vis. 

Mather pulled away only to have Vis reel him back in, Vis then seem to have mechanical issues coming down the front stretch forcing him to pull off. The caution came out on lap 18 when Kevin Rose spun in turn four forcing a two lap shootout. Mather held off Philip Holtz to take his third win of the season at Indee.

Holtz was second, Jarod Weepie moved up seven spots to finish third. Jay Schmidt was fourth and Tom Schmitt was fifth.

Troy Cordes held off Brennen Chipp to become the eighth different IMCA Modified feature winner this season in Indee. The win was also his 48th locally, putting him first all-time in wins for the division.

Logan Duffy was the IMCA Sunoco Late Model winner, Kaden Reynolds topped the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Vern Jackson paced the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod main.

The 2021 class of the Independence Motor Speedway induction took place at Intermission. This year’s Hall of Fame inductees included Paul Fitzpatrick, Bob Hilmer, Karl Sanger, Bill Barthelmes, Don Bedard, Tiny Russell and Gordon Bentley.

The Independence Motor Speedway 2021 Hall of Fame induction was held during intermission of the Saturday night race program. From left are hall of fame committee member LaVern Tarpy, inductee Bill Barthelmes, Patty Bentley accepting for her husband Gordon, inductee Bob Hilmer, inductee Paul Fitzpatrick, committee member Mike Flaucher, inductee Karl Sanger, Mark Russell, accepting for his father Tiny, and committee member Karen Crawford. Completing the Class of 2021 inductees is Don Bedard. (Photo by Black Hat Photography)