Smith sails to URSS vs. OCRS Showdown honors

Danny Smith made his way to victory lane, when United Rebel Sprint Series and Oil Capital Racing Series drivers squared off at 81 Speedway. (photo by Cherie Peak)

PARK CITY, Kan. (May 22) – Oklahoma veteran Danny Smith came away with the $1,000 victory when the Drive to Zero United Rebel Sprint Series presented by Mel Hambelton Ford combined forces with the Oil Capital Racing Series for a dual sanctioned event at 81 Speedway.

Smith started outside the front row in the 25-lapper and went the distance to win over URSS regular Jordan Knight. 

Another veteran campaigner, Danny Wood, raced to a third place finish while Jeremy Huish and Kyler Johnson finished fourth and fifth, respectively. 

A total of 35 competitors entered competition. The victory was Smith’s 11th in his Oil Capital career.

Feature results – 1. Danny Smith; 2. Jordan Knight; 3. Danny Wood 4. Jeremy Huish; 5. Kyler Johnson; 6. Whit Gastineau; 7. Tanner Conn; 8. Alison Slaton; 9. Zach Blurton; 10. Kyle Clark; 11. Joe Bob Lee; 12. J.D. Johnson; 13. Connor Atkinson; 14. Terry Easum; 15. Shon Pointer; 16. Chris Kelly; 17. Koby Walters; 18. Tyler Knight; 19. Sheldon Barksdale; 20. Jase Randolph.