IMCA announces rookie of the year eligibility for 2021

VINTON, Iowa – Rookie of the year eligibility guidelines for the nine IMCA divisions have been announced for the 2021 season. 

Drivers with 10 or fewer sanctioned starts in a division will now be eligible for rookie status; the previous maximum number of starts had been four.

Due to the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic, eligible drivers, who did not win national or regional rookie of the year awards in 2020 will automatically be signed up to contend for those awards again this year.

Also, drivers are not allowed to drop down a division(s) and be considered a rookie, with the divisional progres­sion of order being Sport Compact, Hobby Stock, Mod Lite, Northern and Southern SportMod, Stock Car, Modified, Sprint Car and Late Model.

With the introduction of the STARS Mod Lite division this year, no Mod Lite rookie of the year will be named in 2021. There are no restrictions on what other classes Mod Lite drivers can race in during the division’s first year of IMCA sanctioning. 

Last year’s national rookies of the year were Dakota Sproul, Mitch Manternach, Mitchell Dvorak, Cameron Wilkinson, Kyler Duggins, Clay Erickson, Matthew Day and Jack Bransom. Top regional rookies were Chad Bennett, Jake McBirnie, Jon White Jr., Dino Gronning, Dustin Mooney and Brodee Eckerdt.