Berry tops IMCA Modified feature at Durbin Memorial

Tom Berry Jr. took the $1,000 IMCA Modified feature win at Stuart Speedway’s Jake Durbin Memorial Wednesday night. (Photo by Jim Zimmerline)

By Josh Reynolds

STUART, Iowa (June 24) – Tom Berry Jr. turned away all challengers and went home with both the IMCA Modified feature win and a $1,000 check from Stuart Speedway’s Jake Durbin Memorial.

Dylan Thornton and Jordy Nelson were on the front row for Wednesday’s main event. Nelson led early with Todd Shute waiting in the wings. A lap six caution slowed the field and when flagman Jamie Schirm waved the green it was Berry powering to the lead with Richie Gustin in tow.

Berry had some challenges but stayed tough out front as he went on to the win.

Already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot, Berry crossed the stripe ahead of Gustin with Cayden Carter third. Tim Ward was fourth and Shute fifth.

Buck Schafroth cruised to the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car checkers ahead of Dallon Murty and Damon Murty. Chuck Madden Jr. sailed to the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock win with Dylan Nelson second with Brandon Cox third. 

Brian Osantowski made his move to the front of the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod field with two circuits to go and was chased to the checkers by Brayton Carter and Dusty Masolini. 

Owen Richards led the distance of the Mach-1 Sport Compact main event. Hunter Patrick and Tyler Fiebelkorn rounded out the top three.

One hundred and six cars packed the pits for the second annual Durbin Memorial. next Thursday is the 21st annual Ron Little Memorial/Midwest Madness Tour event.

Modified feature results – 1. Tom Berry Jr.; 2. Richie Gustin; 3. Cayden Carter; 4. Tim Ward; 5. Todd Shute; 6. Nick Roberts; 7. Ethan Braaksma; 8. Josh Gilman; 9. Dylan Thornton; 10. Tony Cox; 11. Chase Rudolf; 12. Jesse Dennis; 13. Jeff James; 14. Anthony Hofbauer; 15. Kyle Brown; 16. Colton Horner; 17. Scott Simatovich; 18. Zack Rawlins; 19. Cory Sauerman; 20. Martin Bennett; 21. Mike Albertsen; 22. Jordy Nelson; 23. Matthew Meinecke; 24. John Davis.