Rust runs away from IMCA Modified foes at Prelude

Joel Rust
Joel Rust checked out on everybody in winning the IMCA Modified Prelude main event at Boone Speedway. (Photo by Bruce Badgley, Motorsports Photography)

By Joyce Eisele

BOONE, Iowa (Aug. 31) – A whopping 323 cars checked in to the Boone Speedway for the run­ning of the Wild Rose Casino and Resort Prelude to the Super Nationals Saturday night and the $1,000 to win IMCA Modified feature went to Joel Rust.

On a hot streak of late, Rust started sixth and grabbed the lead from Dennis LaVeine, then fended off challenges by Kyle Brown and Jeremy Mills before pulling away on the high side. 

Kyle Brown took second, Cody Laney came from 12th to finish third, Kelly Shryock started 10th and finished fourth and Richie Gustin was fifth after starting 15th on the field. Jeremy Mills was running third on the white flag lap, slipped high in turn four and fell back to finish 11th.

Rust was already on the ballot for the 2020 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.

Thirty-four heat races and 17 “B” features were required to set the main event grids for the Prel­ude. Kelly Shryock was the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car winner, John Watson topped the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature and Johnathon Logue was first to the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod checkers.

The early portion of the Stock Car main saw Devin Smith, Jay Schmidt and defending winner An­drew Borchardt put on a show up front.  Smith led the first 10 laps before Schmidt managed to nab a brief run as captain of the ship.

Shryock came into the picture and took command on lap 15.  From there on, Shryock pulled away from the pack and scored the comfortable win. Schmidt was second, third went to Borchardt, Troy Jerovetz finished fourth from his 12th place starting spot and Smith was fifth. The race went cau­tion-free.

The 25-lap Hobby Stock feature also went flag to flag. Watson took the win after passing Kansas racer Tathan Burkhart on lap 18.  Burkhart was the runner-up, Dylan Nelson ran at the front of the pack all race and finished third, Malik Sampson was fourth and Chuck Madden completed the top five.

Logue led start to finish in the Northern SportMod feature.  Logue weathered two caution flag re­starts to take the victory.  Tyler Soppe chased Logue the entire distance to finish as runner-up.  Jake Sachau was third, Joe Docekal started 14th and finished fourth and Austin Schrage was fifth. 

Cars from across the U.S., as well as Canada, and Australia came to Boone to test the waters prior to the start of the 37th running of the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s starting on Labor Day Monday, Sept. 2.

Feature Results

Modifieds – 1. Joel Rust; 2. Kyle Brown; 3. Cody Laney; 4. Kelly Shryock; 5. Richie Gustin; 6. Chris Abelson; 7. Dennis LaVeine; 8. Mike Van Genderen; 9. Tim Ward; 10. Anthony Hofbauer; 11. Jeremy Mills; 12. Todd Shute; 13. Steven Bowers Jr.; 14. Jordy Nelson; 15. Scott Hogan; 16. D.J. Shannon; 17. Cory Davis; 18. Scott Olson; 19. Drew Armstrong; 20. Eric Elliott; 21. Jeffrey Abbey; 22. Taylor Musselman; 23. Randy Havlik; 24. Eric Barnes.

Stock Cars – 1. Kelly Shryock; 2. Jay Schmidt; 3. Andrew Borchardt; 4. Troy Jerovetz; 5. Devin Smith; 6. Jason Rogers; 7. Jeff Mueller; 8. Jesse Sobbing; 9. Elijah Zevenbergen; 10. Angel Munoz; 11. Andrew Burg; 12. Josh Daniels; 13. Kyle Brown; 14. Mike Albertsen; 15. Curt Lund; 16. Mathew West; 17. Luke Lemmens; 18. Jeremy Christians; 19. Jeffrey Abbey; 20. Hesston Shaw; 21. Westin Abbey; 22. Donavon Smith; 23. John Oliver Jr.; 24. Rod Richards.

Hobby Stocks – 1. John Watson; 2. Tathan Burkhart; 3. Dylan Nelson; 4. Malik Sampson; 5. Chuck Madden Jr.; 6. Zach Ankrum; 7. Adam Ayers; 8. Matt Olson; 9. Eric Stanton; 10. Mike Smith; 11. Keeran Sampson; 12. Nick Beckman; 13. Josh VanCannon; 14. Dustin Thompson; 15. Ja­son Kohl; 16. Jacob Floyd; 17. John Ades; 18. Brandon Nielsen; 19. Seth Janssen; 20. Daw­son DeBoer; 21. Rowan Mason; 22. Jamie Coady; 23. Tanner Jones; 24. Drew Barglof.

Northern SportMods – 1. Johnathon Logue; 2. Tyler Soppe; 3. Jakob Sachau; 4. Joe Docekal; 5. Austin Schrage; 6. Cody Thompson; 7. Tyler Inman; 8. Jake McBirnie; 9. Conner VandeWeerd; 10. Zach Nitsch; 11. Doug Cook; 12. Vern Jackson; 13. Bo Partain; 14. Chad Briese; 15. Colby Langenberg; 16. Dylan Vanwyk; 17. Arron Duvall; 18. Dakota Sproul; 19. Brian Efkamp; 20. Doug Smith; 21. Cole Fenske; 22. Ryan Reed; 23. Ben Chapman; 24. Chase Rudolf