Abelson captures Dirt Knight Tour bounty at BVR

Chris Abelson bagged the $2,000 top prize, plus a $500 bounty for his Arnold Motor Supply Dirt Knights Tour victory Wednesday night at Buena Vista. Three of his career six IMCA Modified tour wins have come at Alta. (Photo by Jim Steffens)

ALTA, Iowa (July 24) – Add a new title to Chris Abelson’s racing resume: Bounty hunter.

Abelson led all 30 laps of Wednesday’s Arnold Motor Supply Dirt Knights Tour main event at Buena Vista Raceway, earning $2,000 for the IMCA Modified feature victory plus the $500 bounty of­fered to the driver who could stop Richie Gustin’s series streak.

Abelson drew the pole and tussled with California challenger Cody Laney before and after re­starts on the 18th circuit. 

The last 12 laps ran green. Laney stayed close but had to settle for second. Gustin, chasing a record fourth straight tour victory, started seventh and finished third. 

Completing the top five were in the Al Ritts Memorial race were Joel Rust and Kelly Shryock. Hard charger Craig Reetz started 10th and finished 10th.

Abelson was already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot. His third feature win of the sea­son was his Arnold Motor Supply Dirt Knights Tour career sixth. The 2016 tour champion also won at BVR in 2011 and 2016. 

Other Wednesday winners at Alta were Stefan Sybesma in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, rookie Mike Smith in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks, Doug Smith in the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods and Caine Mahlberg in the Mach-1 Sport Compacts. 

The fourth and final tour Dirt Knights Tour event of the week is the $1,500 to win show Thursday, July 25 at Kossuth County Speedway.

That program will be broadcast by IMCA.TV.

Also on the card at Algona are IMCA Stock Cars, Hobby Stocks, Northern SportMods and Sport Compacts.

Pit gates and the grandstand open at 5:30 p.m. Hot laps are at 7 p.m. with racing to follow.

Feature results – 1. Chris Abelson, Sioux City; 2. Cody Laney, Torrance, Calif.; 3. Richie Gustin, Gil­man; 4. Joel Rust, Grundy Center; 5. Kelly Shryock, Fertile; 6. Josh Most, Red Oak; 7. Travis Hatcher, Honey Creek; 8. Kyle Brown, Madrid; 9. Ethan Dotson, Bakersfield, Calif.; 10. Craig Reetz, Dunlap; 11. Al Hejna, Clear Lake; 12. Brock Bauman, Eureka, Ill.; 13. Matt Bonine, Onawa; 14. Ethan Braaksma, Newton; 15. Alan Bohlman, Cambridge, Minn.; 16. Justin Sackett, Pierson; 17. D.J. Shannon, Merced, Calif.; 18. Stacey Mills, Webb; 19. Corey Dripps, Reinbeck; 20. Kollin Hibdon, Pahrump, Nev.; 21. Derrick Stewart, Ainsworth; 22. Cody Bauman, Eureka, Ill.; 23. Brent Mack, Newell.