Foulger figuring out Merced, IMCA Modified checkers at Ed Parker Memorial pay $2,028

Troy Foulger mastered lapped traffic in winning Saturday’s Ed Parker Memorial feature for IMCA Modifieds, and $2,028, at Merced Speedway. (Photo by Heather Thomas)

MERCED, Calif. (June 15) – Slowly but surely, Troy Foulger is figuring out the nuances at Merced Speedway.

Foulger raced from sixth starting to win Saturday’s Ed Parker Memorial IMCA Modified main event. His third victory of the season at the Central Valley oval paid $2,028, plus lap money, and landed him on the ballot for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.

“It was awesome,” said Foulger, who split leader Randy Brown and a lapped car to take the front spot on the 19th of 30 circuits. “We ran in traffic most of the way and I tried to get through it as quick as I could.”

After an early caution, the race stayed green all the way to lap 27. Foulger pulled away again in beating Brown and Robby Sawyer to the checkers.

“I ran the top side most of the way,” he said following his ninth start of 2019 at Merced, “but I could go about anywhere to get through traffic.”

Cody Burke and hard charger Trevor Fitz-Gibbon, who’d started 13th, rounded out the top five.

Kelly Wilkinson motored from 11th starting to top the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature.

Danny Roe was second, 16th starting Fred Ryland third.

The second annual event was held in memory of the late Merced promoter.

Feature Results

Modifieds – 1. Troy Foulger; 2. Randy Brown; 3. Robby Sawyer; 4. Cody Burke; 5. Trevor Fitz-Gibbon; 6. Ramie Stone; 7. Brian Pearce; 8. Bryan Clark; 9. Paul Stone; 10. Anthony Giuliani; 11. Ryan Larimer; 12. Austin Burke; 13. Buddy Kniss; 14. Derek Nance; 15. Ryan Porter; 16. Shane DeVolder; 17. Steve Noland; 18. Jeff Streeter.

Northern SportMods – 1. Kelly Wilkinson; 2. Danny Roe; 3. Fred Ryland; 4. Guy Ahlwardt; 5. Nick Tucker; 6. K.C. Keller; 7. Chuck Weir; 8. Gavyn Manning; 9. Tony Peffer; 10. Rick Diaz; 11. Jeremy Hoff; 12. Jack Aguiar; 13. Todd Gomez; 14. Jarrod Mounce; 15. Cody Parker; 16. Kenny Shrader; 17. Jason Nation; 18. Tanner Thomas; 19. Patti Ryland.