Deery Series finale set for Friday at Davenport Speedway 

Deery Brothers Summer Series


DAVENPORT, Iowa (Sept. 18) – The final event of the 32nd annual Deery Brothers Summer Se­ries gets top billing at Friday’s Governor’s Cup Iowa State Championship at Davenport Speed­way.

The Sept. 21 feature for touring IMCA Late Models pays $2,000 to win and a minimum of $300 to start. Wheatland’s Justin Kay brings the point lead to town in pursuit of his career third tour title; he already owns top trophies from 2014 and 2015.

Kay is also the winner of the most recent Deery event held at Davenport, in September of 2014. Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls leads all drivers with six career tour wins at the Mississippi Valley Fair­grounds oval.

Pit gates open at 3 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 5 p.m. on Friday, Hot laps are at 6 p.m. with racing to follow on the quarter-mile.

Spectator admission is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors and students, and free for kids 12 and un­der. Pit passes are $35.

IMCA Modifieds race for $1,000 to win their Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot-qualifying event at Davenport. Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and street stocks both race for $500 to win.

Friday’s program is also the final event of the season at which IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National and Iowa State points will be awarded in the Late Model division.

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Justin Kay, Wheatland, 389; 2. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, 361; 3. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque, 349; 4. Todd Cooney, Pleasant Hill, 341; 5. Curt Martin, Independence, 332; 6. Nick Marolf, Moscow, 311; 7. Chad Holladay, Muscatine, 310; 8. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, and Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove, both 301; 10. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, 226; 11. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa, 223; 12. Matt Ryan, Davenport, 215; 13. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin, and Chad Coyne, Orion, Ill., both 210; 15. Rob Moss, Iowa City, 202; 16. Terry Neal, Ely, and Tim Simpson, Iowa City, both 201; 18. Curt Schroeder, Newton, 179; 19. Chuck Hanna, Port Byron, Ill., 174; 20. Rob Toland, Colona, Ill., 157.