Vanover, Spaw check out on Stock Car foes

Kyle Vanover topped the first Thursday night qualifier for Stock Cars at the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s. (Photo by Melissa Coker, Melissa’s Out On A Limb Photography)

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 6) – Kyle Vanover and Johnny Spaw both made sure the race was for second Thursday at Boone Speedway.

Vanover led all 25 laps in winning the first IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s Stock Car qualifying feature and Spaw more than matched that impressive run in the second.

The top four drivers in each feature advance to the middle row of Saturday’s main event.

Twelfth starting Jeff Tubbs, 15th starting Jeff Mueller and 16th starting Jason See chased Vanover to the checkers. Luke Lemmens, 2010 champion Jeremy Christians and two-time champion Donavon Smith were scored behind Spaw. Hunter Marriott, Bryan Rigsby and Justin Nehring were disqualified in post-race tech for rev limiter, compression and failed rear suspension, respectively.

Tubbs settled in behind Vanover following the first of two cautions just after midway; Mueller and See made their way into the top four with five laps left.

Spaw was the master of traffic as the nightcap stayed green the final 20 circuits. Lemmens ran second following the lap five restart but Spaw checked out on everybody.

Christians and Smith both qualified for the 12th time in their careers, Vanover for the sixth, Mueller for the fifth, See and Tubbs for the second, and Spaw and Lemmens for the first.

1st qualifying feature – 1. Kyle Vanover, Beatrice, Neb.; 2. Jeff Tubbs, Colby, Kan.; 3. Jeff Mueller, Albion; 4. Jason See, Albia; 5. Chad Krogmeier, Burlington; 6. Travis Barker, Sioux City; 7. Jason Ward, Sioux City; 8. Randy Brands, Boyden; 9. Tom Cannon, West Branch; 10. Mathew West, Kellerton; 11. Jake Ludeking, Decorah; 12. Ryan Harris, Hubbard, Neb.; 13. Corey Piffer, Indianola; 14. Shane Stutzman, Milford, Neb.; 15. Norman Chesmore, Rowley; 16. Tony Ritterbush, Dunlap; 17. Dusty Springer, Colby, Kan.; 18. Shawn Wagner, Lena, Wis.; 19. Scott Davis, Madrid; 20. Chad Clancy, Polo, Mo.; 21. J.J. Heinz, Green Bay, Wis.; 22. Reid Keller, Webster City; 23. David Brandies, Wilton; 24. Marcus Fagan, Adair; 25. Billy Wade, San Angelo, Texas; 26. Austin Daae, Estevan, Sask.; 27. Mikey Dancer, North Platte, Neb.; 28. Aaron Stolp, Suamico, Wis.; 29. Bob Fuegmann, Minot, N.D.; 30. Brandon Pruitt, Stuart.

2nd qualifying feature – 1. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids; 2. Luke Lemmens, Madison, Wis.; 3. Jeremy Christians, Horicon, Wis.; 4. Donavon Smith, Lake City; 5. Tanner Pettitt, Norfolk, Neb.; 6. Michael Murphy, Jefferson; 7. Todd Reitzler, Grinnell; 8. Keith Knop, Shelby; 9. Justin Temeyer, Independence; 10. Pete Alexander, Albert Lea, Minn.; 11. Robert Stofer, Jefferson; 12. Matt Schauer, Arlington, Minn.; 13. Mark Schuenemann, Boulder Junction, Wis.; 14. Jay Goosmann, Merrill; 15. Andrew Borchardt, Plymouth; 16. Landon Mattox, Fairview, Okla.; 17. Jon Boller Jr., St. Joseph Mo.; 18. Rod Richards, Madrid; 19. A.J. Zimmerman, Cleveland, Minn.; 20. Luke Ramsey, Bedford; 21. Mark Zorn, Russell, Kan.; 22. Cary Heinen, Fort Dodge; 23. Jesse Taylor, Fort Morgan, Colo.; 24. Bruce Wickman, Emmetsburg; 25. Brad Whitney, Trenton, Mo.; 26. Les Lundquist, Sioux City; 27. Jeffrey Larson, Lakefield, Minn.

Johnny Spaw checked out on everybody in winning the second Thursday night IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s Stock Car qualifier. (Photo by Carl Larson)