Former champion Smith is qualifying feature winner

No stranger to victory lane at Boone Speedway, Doug Smith won the Wednesday qualifying feature for Northern SportMods. (Photo by Tom Macht,

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 5) – The 2016 Northern SportMod champion begins his drive for a bookend IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s trophy from the outside of the front row Saturday night.

Doug Smith reeled in longtime leader Chad Briese on the 18th of 25 laps and edged away from the rest of the field for the Wednesday qualifying feature victory.

Briese held on for second. Lining up behind the front pair in the big show will be third through eighth place finishers Alec Fett, 15th starting Daniel Fellows, 25th starting Anthony Kobus, J.J. Baumli, Ethan Braaksma and Brandon Dale. Tony Olson was disqualified from a transfer spot for illegal valve springs.

Also the runner-up in 2013, Smith will make his career seventh Saturday night start. The other seven Wednesday qualifiers all are in the big dance for the first time.

Qualifying feature results – 1. Doug Smith, Lake City; 2. Chad Briese, Albion, Neb.; 3. Alec fett, Thompson; 4. Daniel Fellows, Keokuk; 5. Anthony Kobus, David City, Neb.; 6. J.J. Baumli, Lathrop, Mo.; 7. Ethan Braaksma, Newton; 8. Brandon Dale, Arbela, Mo.; 9. Kyle Olson, Cedar Rapids; 10. Rodger Peck, Minneapolis, Kan.; 11. Ron Hults, Centennial, Colo.; 12. Tyler Inman, Altoona; 13. Timothy Warner, Malone; 14. Cody Schroeder, Manitowoc, Wis.; 15. Kent Haugland, Wesley; 16. Robert Draper, Valparaiso, Neb.; 17. Austin Schrage, Cresco; 18. Chris Wright, Chillicothe, Mo.; 19. Austin Howes, Memphis, Mo.; 20. Steve Clancy, Odessa, Mo.; 21. Brandon Tharp, Vinton; 22. Trent Brink, Bussey; 23. Jake Hagemann, Fort Ripley, Minn.; 24. Shawn Albers, Wellsburg; 25. Andy Voigt, Beaver Dam, Wis.; 26. Cody Brill, Harrisonville, Mo.