Top drivers in four divisions featured in races of champions at Super Nationals

BOONE, Iowa – One of the premier races for IMCA Modifieds marks a milestone during the upcoming IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s.

The 30th annual Harris Auto Racing Race of Champions will feature a dozen drivers battling for $1,000 to win and a career-type highlight on Saturday, Sept. 8 at Boone Speedway.

Also on the championship day card are the 17th annual Sunoco Face Fuels Race of Champions for Stock Cars and ninth annual BSB Manufacturing Race of Champions for Northern SportMods and Stephenville Starter Race of Champions for Hobby Stocks.

The Stock Car RoC pays $500 to win, while $300 is the top prize in both the SportMod and Hobby Stock events.

SportMod and Hobby Stock RoC qualifying will be Tuesday, Sept. 4. Modified and Stock Car RoC qualifying is Thursday, Sept. 6.

Drivers eligible to qualify for their respective events include former national and Super Nationals champions and race of champions winners, 2018 track champions/point leader or the second-place driver if the leader is not in attendance.

Also eligible to qualify are former Modified (from 1993), Stock Car and Hobby Stock regional champions.

A dozen Modifieds start the Harris Auto Racing RoC, with $100 paid to the leader each time around. Second place pays $800, third pays $600, fourth is good for $400, fifth for $300, sixth for $200, seventh for $175 and eighth through 12th $100 each. Non-qualifiers also get $100.

The race winner is also added to the ballot for the 2019 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.

Ten cars start the Sunoco race. The runner-up gets $400, third place pays $300, fourth pays $200, fifth pays $150 and sixth through 10th each pay $100. Lap money is $75 and non-qualifiers get $50.

Distances for both Northern SportMod and Hobby Stock RoC events are 10 laps. Runners-up earn $175, with $125 for third, $100 for fourth and $50 for fifth through 10th.

2017 race winners were Kyle Strickler in the Modified RoC, David Smith in the Sunoco RoC, Dakota Sproul in the Northern SportMod RoC and Jason Fusselman in the Hobby Stock RoC.