Second round of voting adds three more first-time All-Stars

BOONE, Iowa – Cayden Carter, Joel Rust and Kody Scholpp will make career-first Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational starts on Sept. 7 during the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s at Boone Speedway.

All three advanced from the second round of IMCA Modified All-Star voting, which concluded Thursday afternoon. Thirteen drivers in all were elected, in polling conducted through the IMCA Facebook page.

Jay Noteboom will take the green for a record-extending 11th time while Tim Ward and Chris Abelson each make their eighth starts. Kyle Strickler is in for the sixth time.

Four-time All-Stars are Kelly Shryock and Jason Wolla. Ethan Dotson and Kyle Brown both make their third All-Star starts while Clint Luellen and Cody Laney are both in for the second time in their respective careers.

Noteboom was the All-Star Invitational winner in 2005 and 2008 and was the runner-up last year. Abelson won in 2011 while Strickler topped the 2014 event. Strickler got the call to notify him he’d been elected to start the 2018 race on his birthday.

Scholpp became the first Canadian driver to qualify for the Modified main event at Super Nationals in 2013; Carter became the first driver to qualify for main events in three divisions at the same Super Nationals last September.

Ten of the 28 drivers elected to the All-Star Invitational will make career-first starts in that event.

The first 15 drivers elected were Chaz Baca, Steven Bowers Jr., Chris Elliott, Troy Foulger, Tyler Frye, William Gould, Richie Gustin, Shane Hiatt, Zachary Madrid, Hunter Marriott, Kevin Sustaire, Ricky Thornton Jr., A.J. Ward, Will Ward and Austin Wonch.

Completing the starting grid for the 30-lapper will be All-Star candidates with the top national point to­tal and the most 40-point feature wins as of Aug. 31 competing at Super Nationals.

The event pays $1,000 to win and $200 to start. A dozen states and Canada are now represented in the All-Star field.