Top drivers in four divisions featured in races of champions at Super Nationals

BOONE, Iowa – A season’s worth of bragging rights are on the line Saturday, Sept. 9, when race of champions winners take their turn on stage at the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s.

The winner of the 29th annual Harris Auto Racing Modified Race of Champions earns $1,000 while $500 is the top prize in the 17th annual Sunoco Race Fuels Race of Champions for Stock Cars.

Both the BSB Manufacturing Race of Champions for Northern SportMods and Stephenville Starter Race of Champions for Hobby Stocks pay $300 to win. Those events will be held for the eighth time.

SportMod and Hobby Stock ROC qualifying will be Monday, Sept. 4. Modified and Stock Car ROC qualifying is Friday, Sept. 8.

Drivers eligible to qualify for their respective events include former national and Super Nationals champions and race of champions winners, 2017 track champions/point leader or the second-place driver if the leader is not in attendance.

Also eligible to qualify are former Modified (from 1993), Stock Car and Hobby Stock regional champions.

A dozen Modifieds start the Harris Auto Racing ROC, with $100 paid to the leader each time around. Second place pays $800, third pays $600, fourth is good for $400, fifth for $300, sixth for $200, seventh for $175 and eighth through 12th $100 each.

Non-qualifiers who race each night Wednesday through Saturday also get $100. The race winner is added to the ballot for the 2018 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.

Ten cars start the Sunoco race. The runner-up gets $400, third place pays $300, fourth pays $200, fifth pays $150 and sixth through 10th each pay $100. Lap money is $75 and non-qualifiers racing Wednesday, Thursday and Friday get $50.

Distances for both SportMod and Hobby Stock ROC events are 10 laps. Runners-up earn $175, with $125 for third, $100 for fourth and $50 for fifth through 10th.

2016 race winners were Ricky Thornton Jr., in the Modified RoC, Dustin Larson in the Stock Car RoC, Doug Smith in the Northern SportMod RoC and Brandon Nielsen in the Hobby Stock RoC.