Greseth capitalizes for Buffalo River win, Arneson captures Sanders Challenge title

Buffalo River Race Park winner Michael Greseth (right) is joined in victory lane following the Sanders IMCA Modified Challenge Tour by members of the Todd Sanders family and tour champion Austin Arneson. (Photo by Mike Spieker)

By Mike Spieker

GLYNDON, Minn. (Aug. 20) – Michael Greseth took the win while Austin Arneson took the title in the Sunday finale for the Sanders IMCA Modified Challenge Tour Sunday at Buffalo River Race Park.

Greseth used a restart with 13 laps to go to move by leader Dale Kraling. From there, he withstood challenges from Kraling on two more restarts and captured the $1,000 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot-qualifying victory over Arneson.

With the second place finish, Arneson was crowned the 2017 Sanders Modified Tour champion.

Points were tallied all four nights of the tour, with each driver’s worst night being thrown out. By night’s end at Buffalo River, Arneson edged out Greseth by a mere one point to claim the championship and the $1,500 bonus.

“This is a fun tour,” said Arneson. “With a tour like this, it’s nice to have all the hard work pay off. It’s even better when you can do it in front of your hometown people.”

A season-high 29 IMCA Modifieds were checked in at Glyndon.

Matt Talley was the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod winner and Brandon Schmidt topped a hotly contested IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock main. The Mach-1 Sport Compact winner was Daniel Harstad.

Feature results – 1. Michael Greseth; 2. Austin Arneson; 3. Dale Kraling; 4. Tyler Peterson; 5. Rob VanMil; 6. Trent Grager; 7. Justin Jones; 8. Dev Malmlov; 9. Marcus Tomlinson; 10. Michael Johnson; 11. Tyler Hall; 12. Lucas Rodin; 13. Josh Beaulieu; 14. Myles Tomlinson; 15. Cody Peterson; 16. Lance Scholling; 17. Bryce Bjerken; 18. Rich Pavlicek; 19. Brennan Borg; 20. Karmith Christensen; 21. Luke Scholling; 22. Jamie Schulz; 23. Patrick Brejcha; 24. Dave Shipley.