Mackenthun regains lead late for $1,500 win at Sibley County Fair Stock special

His late-race heroics at Arlington Raceway’s Sibley County Fair special made Dan Mackenthun a $1,500 IMCA Sunoco Stock Car winner on Wednesday night. (Photo by Sarah Moriarty)

ARLINGTON, Minn. (Aug. 2) – A driver who’s enjoyed his share of success and then some at Arlington Raceway was back in victory lane following Wednesday’s Sibley County Fair IMCA Sunoco Stock Car Shootout.

Nine-time track champion Dan Mackenthun regained the lead from Matt Speckman with two laps left and stayed in front to the $1,500 checkers.

Mackenthun had taken the early lead ahead of Jeff Holstein, who stayed with him for several laps before getting too high in the second set of turns and losing several positions.

Derek Green, who had enjoyed a big payday of his own Thursday at Kossuth County Speedway, started seventh and moved up quickly to challenge Mackenthun. The two pulled away from the rest of the field and had their own race, trading the top spot several times.

By lap 20, Green was in front and had a little distance on Mackenthun. With only three laps left, however, Green stopped with mechanical problems and went to the pit area.

When the race restarted, Matt Speckman steppped on the gas and got by Mackenthun. Macken­thun took the lead back on the following lap and came out ahead at the checkers for the $1,500 win.

Speckman took second with Luke Sathoff third, Matt Schauer fourth and hard charger Brent Uecker fifth. Uecker had started 19th.

Jared Boumeester repeated as the fair special Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod winner, earning $750. Cory Probst picked up $400 for the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock victory, along with the $100 hard charger prize.

Feature results – 1. Dan Mackenthun; 2. Matt Speckman; 3. Luke Sathoff; 4. Matt Schauer; 5. Brent Uecker; 6. Chad Schroeder; 7. Mike Jergens; 8.  Dean Cornelius; 9. Taylor Willms; 10. Brad Lange; 11. Jake Bruns; 12. Daniel Eckblad; 13. Kevin LaTour; 14. Kent Willms; 15. Adam Revier; 16. Jason Goddard; 17. Jeff Holstein; 18. Andrew Zimmerman; 19. David Moriarty; 20. Derek Green; 21. Chuck Winter; 22. Ryan Grochow; 23. Shaun Bruns; 24. Kevin DeBaere.