Droste checks out at Britt, collects career first Arnold Motor Supply Hawkeye Dirt Tour checkers 

Tyler Droste’s career-first Arnold Motor Supply Hawkeye Dirt Tour feature win paid $3,000 and came during Hancock County Speedway’s Salute to Veterans event Tuesday night. (Photo by Chad Meyer)

BRITT, Iowa (June 27) – Eleven minutes and some odd seconds was all it took for Tyler Droste to win his career first Arnold Motor Supply Hawkeye Dirt Tour feature, and $3,000.

Droste started on the pole of the Tuesday night main event for IMCA Modifieds during Hancock County Speedway’s Salute to Veterans special and led every time around the track in a 30-lapper that ran green to checkers.

He was half a straightaway ahead of Joel Rust when he caught up with the back of the 24-car field at midway. Rust cut into Droste’s advantage but the leader mastered lapped traffic and won handily.

Rust ended in second while tour point leader Kelly Shryock ran third. Twelfth starting Ricky Thornton Jr. and 11th starting Hunter Marriott completed the top five.

Droste became the fourth different winner in as many Dirt Tour events so far this season. He was already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.

Dustin Larson was the $2,500 IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature winner and Austin Luellen earned $2,000 along with the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod checkers. Cody Nielsen’s IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock win paid $1,800 and Nate Coopman banked $400 by winning the Mach-1 Sport Compact feature.

One hundred and forty-three cars, including 43 Modifieds, saw action at Britt.

Three events are next on tap in July for the Arnold Motor Supply Hawkeye Dirt Tour, July 19 at Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa, July 20 at Knoxville Raceway and July 25 at Dubuque Speedway.

Feature results – 1. Tyler Droste, Waterloo; 2. Joel Rust, Grundy Center; 3. Kelly Shryock, Fertile; 4. Ricky Thornton Jr., Chandler, Ariz.; 5. Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo.; 6. Lance Mari, Imperial, Calif.; 7. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 8. Corey Dripps, Reinbeck; 9. Tom Berry Jr., Medford, Ore.; 10. Todd Shute, Des Moines; 11. Jesse Hoeft, Forest City; 12. Kyle Strickler, Mooresville, N.C.; 13. Tim Ward, Harcourt; 14. Jacob Murray, Hartford; 15. Kyle Brown, Madrid; 16. Mike Jergens, Plover; 17. Todd Van Eaton, Orient; 18. Clay Money, Penokee, Kan.; 19. Randy Havlik, Ankeny; 20. Jeremy Mills, Garner; 21. Jay Noteboom, Hinton; 22. Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown; 23. John Emerson, Waterloo; 24. David Brown, Kellogg.