Deery Series, Arnold Motor Supply Hawkeye Dirt Tour at West Liberty for June 13 doubleheader

WEST LIBERTY, Iowa – Another doubleheader for two premier IMCA series is on tap next Tues­day, June 13 at West Liberty Raceway.

The Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models makes its second visit of the season to West Liberty for a $2,000 to win, minimum $300 to start event while IMCA Modifieds following the Arnold Motor Supply Hawkeye Dirt Tour run for $1,000 to win and a minimum of $150 to start.

Spectator admission is $16 for adults, $14 for seniors 62 and over, $10 for students ages 13-17 and free for kids 12 and under. Pit passes are $30.

Pit gates open at 4:30 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 5:30 p.m. The drivers’ meeting is at 6 p.m. and racing follows 6:30 p.m. hot laps.

Denny Eckrich of Tiffin was the winner when the Deery Series traveled to West Liberty in April. Wheatland’s Justin Kay, a two-time Deery champion, has won six of the previous 15 tour events held there.

His victory at West Liberty last June helped pave the way for the run by Sioux City’s Chris Abel­son to the 2016 Hawkeye Dirt Tour crown.

Tuesday’s Modified feature is a qualifying event for the upcoming Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot. IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, Allstar Performance State and track points will be awarded in both divisions; Modifieds also chase Side Biter Chassis North Central Region points.

The last events for both series were June 6 at Marshalltown Speedway.

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Jesse Sobbing, Malvern, 287; 2. Jake Neal, Omaha, Neb., 284; 3. Matt Ryan, Davenport, 264; 4. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, 260; 5. Chad Holladay, Muscatine, and Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa, both 259; 7. Luke Goedert, Guttenberg, 251; 8. Curt Martin, Independence, 243; 9. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque, 223; 10. Richie Gustin, Gilman, 213; 11. Justin Kay, Wheatland, 196; 12. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, 194; 13. Paul Conrad, Colo, 185; 14. Jeff Tharp, Sherrill, 177; 15. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, 169; 16. Curt Schroeder, Newton, 146; 17. John Emerson, Waterloo, 131; 18. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, 114; 19. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove, 111; 20. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 110.

Arnold Motor Supply Hawkeye Dirt Tour top 20 point standings – 1. Jimmy Gustin, Mar­shalltown, 76; 2. Kelly Shryock, Fertile, 75; 3. Tyler Droste, Waterloo, 71; 4. Joel Rust, Grundy Center, 70; 5. Kyle Brown, Madrid, 69; 6. Todd Shute, Des Moines, 66; 7. John Emerson, Water­loo, and Clay Money, Penokee, Kan., both 65; 9. Jacob Murray, Hartford, 59; 10. Jesse Hoeft, Forest City, 56; 11. Troy Cordes, Dunkerton, 55; 12. Corey Dripps, Reinbeck, 51; 13. Shane DeMey, Denison, 47; 14. Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo., 39; 15. Darin Duffy, Urbana, 37; 16. Cody Knecht, Whittemore, 36; 17. Justin Kay, Wheatland, and Brandon Maitland, Waterloo, both 33; 19. David Brown, Kellogg, and Brian Irvine, Oelwein, both 32.