Deery Series headlines Memorial Day show at Boone Speedway

Deery Brothers Summer Series

BOONE, Iowa – A Memorial Day tradition continues at Boone Speedway when the Deery Brothers Summer Series headlines the holiday race program.

Touring IMCA Late Models race for $2,000 to win and a minimum of $300 to start the Monday, May 29 main event.

Pit gates open at 2 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 3 p.m. Hot laps are at 4 p.m. and racing starts at 5 p.m. Grandstand admission is $20 for adults, $7 for students ages 13-17 and free for kids 12 and under attending with a paid adult. Pit passes are $30.

Thirteen of the previous 45 Deery Series events held at Boone Speedway were Memorial Day specials. Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls leads all drivers with seven tour victories there, including a string of four straight IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s wins through last September.

Gary Webb of Blue Grass and Ray Guss Jr. of Milan each own four career Deery wins at Boone.

Completing the Monday card are IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks. IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, regional, Allstar Performance State and track points will be awarded in all three divisions.

More information about the seventh event of the 31st annual series is available from Boone Speedway promoter Robert Lawton at 515 987-1220 and at the website.

The tour returns to Boone for the Super Nationals show on Thursday, Sept. 7.

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Jake Neal, Omaha, Neb., 211; 2. Jesse Sobbing, Malvern, 208; 3. Matt Ryan, Davenport, 201; 4. Cayden Carter, Os­kaloosa, and Luke Goedert, Guttenberg, both 198; 6. Chad Holladay, Muscatine, 192; 7. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque, 191; 8. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, 186; 9. Curt Martin, Independence, 184; 10. Jeff Tharp, Sherrill, 177; 11. Richie Gustin, Gilman, 148; 12. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, 140; 13. Paul Conrad, Colo, 131; 14. Jus­tin Kay, Wheatland, 117; 15. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 110; 16. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, 109; 17. Curt Schroeder, Newton, 101; 18. Travis Denning, Sterling, Ill., 99; 19. Luke Merfeld, Dubuque, 97; 20. John Emerson, Waterloo, 91.