United Rebel Sprint Series kicks off 2017 season Saturday at Longdale

LONGDALE, Okla. – The Meyers Racing Engines National Points chase kicks off the 2017 sea­son with a United Rebel Sprint Series/Sprint Series of Oklahoma co-sanctioned show this Satur­day, April 1 at Longdale, Okla., Speedway.

Last year the Rebels made one appearance at the lightning-quick 3/8-mile oval with Luke Cranston besting a 26-car field that ran the full 25-lap feature caution free in just six minutes and 47 seconds.

The Midwest’s best 305 Sprint Car racers always put on a spectacular show for the fans each and every night. Look for a solid field of racers from both series to battle it out for $1,000 to win, $250 to start purse.

Drivers making the tow this year will include three-time URSS national champion Jake Bubak, 2016 IMCA rookie of the year Zach Blurton, plus veterans Mike Peters, Brian Herbert, Ty Williams, Keefe Hemel, Tyler and Jordan Knight, Steven Richardson, Taylor Velasquez and Jed Werner, among others.

Sprint Series of Oklahoma drivers include defending IMCA national and tour champion Andy Shouse, Joe Wood Jr., Shayla Waddell, Cody Whitworth, Jerry Jumper, Jake Martens, Chad Koch, Gary Owens, Chris Kelly, Mike Scott, Brandon Jennings and Blake Scott.

Gates open at 5 p.m. with race time slated for a 7 p.m. start. Grandstand admission is $15 for adults, $12 for seniors and military, and free for kids ages 12 and under. It is Educators Night at the Races with all school employees being admitted free.

IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars and IMCA SportMods are also on the evening’s race program.