Deery Series returns to 34 for opening night, ends with rich September dates

WEST BURLINGTON, Iowa – The Deery Brothers Summer Series returns to a very familiar venue for its 31st opening night and ends with a Month of More Money in September.

Touring IMCA Late Models start their 2017 campaign on Saturday, April 1 at 34 Raceway. That event marks the series’ 49th appearance – more than at any other track – at West Burlington and its first there since 2013.

“The first-ever series race was held at 34 Raceway so we’ve got a lot of history there,” noted Tour Director Kevin Yoder. “I know a lot of our drivers as well as fans that follow the Deery Series have been looking forward to returning.”

The Sept. 2 Yankee Dirt Classic main event at Farley Speedway pays $7,500 to win while a bonus of as much as $1,500 awaits the winner of the Sept. 7 show during the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Ca­sey’s at Boone Speedway.

Dates April 8 at West Liberty Raceway, April 14 at Farley, April 15 at Independence Motor Speed­way and April 23 at Dubuque Speedway precede the start of the track point season.

The series is at Quad City Speedway on May 14 and at Boone Speedway for the traditional Memo­rial Day show on May 29.

Doubleheaders with the Arnold Motor Supply Hawkeye Dirt Tour for IMCA Modifieds follow June 6 at Marshalltown Speedway and June 13 at West Liberty.

Completing the schedule are Farley’s Sept. 1-2 Yankee, the Su­per Nationals event at Boone and the Sept. 22-23 Liberty 100 at West Liberty, which wraps up with both points and pay-only features.

All features pay a minimum of $2,000 to win and $300 to start.

“The sponsorship from the Deery Brothers Automotive Group really steers this ship and entering a 26th year working with them is very significant,” Yoder said.

“Casey’s General Store is back as sponsor on the nightly redraw program and Sunoco Race Fuels will give $250 to a random feature qualifier with perfect attendance each night,” he continued. “This schedule is very travel-friendly and I anticipate very competitive races on the track and in the point standings.”

Champion of the 2016 series was Tyler Bruening of Decorah. Darrel DeFrance of Marshalltown has competed at all 467 events in series history.

2017 Deery Brothers Summer Series Schedule – Saturday, April 1 at 34 Raceway, West Burling­ton; Saturday, April 8 at West Liberty Raceway; Friday, April 14 at Farley Speedway; Satur­day, April 15 at Independence Motor Speedway; Sunday, April 23 at Dubuque Speedway; Sunday, May 14 at Quad City Speedway, East Moline, Ill.; Monday, May 29 at Boone Speedway; Tuesday, June 6 at Marshalltown Speedway; Tuesday, June 13 at West Liberty Raceway; Friday and Saturday, Sept. 1 and 2 at Farley Speedway; Thursday, Sept. 7 at Boone Speedway; Friday and Saturday, Sept. 22 and 23 at West Liberty Raceway.