Stock Car qualifying checkers fly for Mills, Schmidt 

Jay Schmidt
Jay Schmidt raced his way into his career 13th main event by winning his IMCA Speedway Motors Su­per Nationals fueled by Casey’s Stock Car qualifier on Thursday. (Photo by Matt Stubbe)


BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 8) – Checkers flew in Thursday’s first Stock Car qualifying features for Chris Mills and Jay Schmidt.

Mills led every lap of the first IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey‘s qualifier rescheduled from Wednesday and Schmidt used the same formula in the second show.

Top four finishers from both qualifiers advance to Saturday’s main event at Boone Speedway.

Mills held off David Brandies following three late restarts. Shaun Bruns and defending champion Dustin Larson rounded out the top four in the opener.

Schmidt saw a big lead erased near midway, then pulled away from 16th starting Derek Green, two-time champion Randy Brands and 18th starting Abe Huls.

Schmidt makes the 13th main event start of his Super Nationals career on Saturday while Brands is in for the sixth time.

Larson is a five-time qualifier, Huls is in for the fourth time, Bruns and Green each for the third. Mills ran third in his Saturday night debut last September. Brandies qualified for the first time.

1st qualifying feature – 1. Chris Mills, Sioux City; 2. David Brandies, Wilton; 3. Shaun Bruns, Dan­ube, Minn.; 4. Dustin Larson, Rushmore, Minn.; 5. Trent Murphy, Jefferson; 6. David Smith, Lake City; 7. Kellie Schmit, Britt; 8. Shane Paris, Muscatine; 9. Terry Pruitt, Dexter; 10. Jeff Mueller, New London; 11. Bo Lundquist, Sioux City; 12. Corey Piffer, Indianola; 13. Dylan Heil­mann, Green Bay, Wis.; 14. Todd Reitzler, Grinnell; 15. Chris Pruitt, Stuart; 16. David Wickman, Emmetsburg; 17. Tony Schlei, Union Grove, Wis.; 18. Tyler Pickett, Boxholm; 19. J.J. Baumli, Lathrop, Mo.; 20. Kevin Opheim, Mason City; 21. Elijah Zevenbergen, Ocheyedan; 22. Brandon Taylor, Granbury, Texas; 23. Brandon Czarapata, Pulaski, Wis.; 24. Blake Peeler, Trimble, Mo.; 25. Westin Abbey, Comanche, Texas; 26. Joe Brenner, Waukesha, Wis.; 27. Aaron Stolp, Milwau­kee, Wis.; 28. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 29. Kyle Vanover, Beatrice, Neb.; 30. Brandon Conkwright, Wamego, Kan.

2nd qualifying feature – 1. Jay Schmidt, Tama; 2. Derek Green, Granada, Minn.; 3. Randy Brands, Boyden; 4. Abe Huls, Carthage, Ill.; 5. Kyle Frederick, Oconto Falls, Wis.; 6. Donavon Smith, Lake City; 7. Jason VanSickel, Webster City; 8. Jason Schoenberger, Trenton, Mo.; 9. Chad Palmer, Renwick; 10. Andy Roller, Waco, Texas; 11. Justin Nehring, Storm Lake; 12. Lance Deal, Fort Dodge; 13. Ryan Harris, Hubbard, Neb.; 14. K.C. Fielding, Burleson, Texas; 15. Jim Powell, Lecompton, Kan.; 16. Aaron Cain, Sioux City; 17. Greg Taylor, Sioux City; 18. Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids; 19. Zach Ankrum, Sioux City; 20. Shane Stutzman, Milford, Neb.; 21. Hesston Shaw, Hennessey, Okla.; 22. Mathias Lux, Hartley; 23. Chad Sterling, Stockton, Kan.; 24. Lynn Panos, Calmar; 25. Dan Mackenthun, Hamburg, Minn.; 26. Jason Minnehan, Churdan; 27. Michael Dancer, North Platte, Neb.; 28. Jerry Leary, Little Suamico, Wis.; 29. Caleb Cren­shaw, Fort Worth, Texas; 30. Kevin Rose, Waterloo.