Early morning Stock Car winners are Fagan, Zevenbergen 

Elijah Zevenbergen
Tenth starting Elijah Zevenbergen won the second on two Stock Car qualifiers on the Thursday schedule at the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s. (Photo by Tom Macht, www.photofinishphotos.com)


BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 8) – Stock Car qualifiers that ended in the wee hours of the morning saw Marcus Fagan and Elijah Zevenbergen in the winner’s circle at Boone Speedway.

Fagan was first to the checkers in the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s opener while Zevenbergen raced from 10th starting to top the nightcap.

Top four finishers from each event advance to the middle row of Saturday’s main event.

Jeremy Swanson became the first Montana driver to qualify for the Stock Car feature with his runner-up finish behind Fagan. Howlin’ Jim Powell was third and 30th starting Cayden Carter was fourth.

Carter had run 12th in Thursday’s Deery Brothers Summer Series feature.

Zevenbergen led two-time champion Donavon Smith, Josh Daniels and David Smith across the stripe.

David Smith makes his 11th career Saturday night start at Super Nationals while brother Donavon, also the 2004 Hobby Stock champ, starts his career 10th Stock Car main.

Fagan is a four-time qualifier and Daniels is in the big show for the third time. Carter, Powell and Zevenbergen join Swanson as first-timer main event qualifiers.

1st qualifying feature – 1. Marcus Fagan, Adair; 2. Jeremy Swanson, Westby, Mont.; 3. Jim Powell, Lecompton, Kan.; 4. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 5. Marty Steinbach, Fremont, Neb.; 6. Brandon Conkwright, Wamego, Kan.; 7. Chad Palmer, Renwick; 8. Troy Woelber, Hull; 9. J.C. Howell, Eustace, Texas; 10. Tyler Pickett, Boxholm; 11. Nick Tubbs, Colby, Kan.; 12. Brandon Taylor, Granbury, Texas; 13. Jason Rogers, Selden, Kan.; 14. Cody Gustoff, Scranton; 15. Donnie Pearson, Oskaloosa; 16. John Heinz, Green Bay, Wis.; 17. Corey Piffer, Indianola; 18. Michael Pepper, Lakin, Kan.; 19. Travis Prochaska, Iowa Falls; 20. Ryan Harris, Hubbard, Neb.; 21. David Wickman, Emmetsburg; 22. Reid Keller, Webster City; 23. K.C. Fielding, Burleson, Texas; 24. Andy Roller, Waco, Texas; 25. Eric Zwirschitz, Antigo, Wis.; 26. Devin Smith, Lake City; 27. Lance Deal, Fort Dodge; 28. Heath Tulp, Britt; 29. Justin Temeyer, Independence; 30. Jake Nelson, Williston, N.D.

2nd qualifying feature – 1. Elijah Zevenbergen, Ocheyedan; 2. Donavon Smith, Lake City; 3. Josh Daniels, Carlisle; 4. David Smith, Lake City; 5. Kyle Vanover, Beatrice, Neb.; 6. Trent Murphy, Jefferson; 7. Kyle Pfeifer, Hill City, Kan.; 8. Lynn Panos, Calmar; 9. Dave Atcher, Laurel; 10. Chad Sterling, Stockton, Kan.; 11. Jeff Tubbs, Colby, Kan.; 12. Kyle Frederick, Oconto Falls, Wis.; 13. Mike Hathcock, Venus, Texas; 14. Jason Davis, Norton, Kan.; 15. Matt Schauer, Arlington, Minn.; 16. Joe Spillman, Austin, Texas; 17. Dave Moriarty, Jordan, Minn.; 18. Rodney Richards, Madrid; 19. Kellie Schmit, Britt; 20. Caleb Crenshaw, Fort Worth, Texas; 21. Jeff Mueller, New London; 22. Scotty Pippert, Elberon; 23. Terry Dulin, Cedar Rapids; 24. Bob Fuegmann, Minot, N.D.; 25. Bob Chalupa, McCook, Neb.; 26. Michael Albertsen, Audubon; 27. Perry Misner, Albert, Kan.; 28. Nolan Remus, Cawker City, Kan.; 29. Dylan Heilmann, Green Bay, Wis.; 30. Greg Keuhn, Trenton, Mo.