Another one for the record book: Aikey wins sixth Super Nationals crown 

Jeff Aikey
Jeff Aikey was number one – for a record sixth time – in the Deery Brothers Summer Series Late Model event Thursday during the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s at Boone Speedway. (Photo by Bruce Badgley, Motorsports Photography)


BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 8) – Even after 30-plus years in the sport, Jeff Aikey is still finding ways to make dirt track racing history.

Aikey became the first driver to win six career IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s championships, running away with Thursday night’s Deery Brothers Summer Series Late Model main event.

The Boone Speedway victory came by a straightaway over Joel Callahan and paid $2,420, an amount that included the Speedway Motors Weekly Racing bonus.

“This place just clicks for me. I just know how to get around here,” said Aikey, who passed Callahan for he lead following a lap 14 restart and stayed in front to the end of the 50-lapper. “Winning is getting better. The older you get, the better the wins get.”

Thursday’s checkers also extended his Super Nationals record to four consecutive titles. Aikey has won 68 tour features and trails Tyler Bruening by a single point going into finale for the 30th annual series finale Sept. 23-24 at West Liberty Raceway.

Ben Seemann drew the pole but it was Callahan grabbing the initial lead from his outside front row starting spot. Callahan had caught up to the back of the field before a lap 12 caution.

Justin Kay drove off under yellow. Aikey passed Jason Rauen for second two laps later and began to check out, running with lapped traffic for most of the last 30 circuits as the race stayed green.

Callahan was a distant second, with Rauen, Bruening and Joe Zrostlik completing the top five.

Luke Pestka was the $300 Malvern Trust and Savings Bank non-qualifier dash for cash winner. Bruening pocketed the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing prize.

Darrel DeFrance competed in his 466th consecutive Deery event, a total that includes 27 Super Nationals shows. Aikey’s latest win came in his 19th start at Super Nationals.

“I should have had two or three more wins here. There were some years when I was running second to Ray Guss Jr.,” said Aikey, not showing the effects of a collar bone broken in an ATV accident earlier this summer. “We’re excited about going to West Liberty.”

Feature results – 1. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls; 2. Joel Callahan, Dubuque; 3. Jason Rauen, Farley; 4. Tyler Bruening, Decorah; 5. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove; 6. Chad Holladay, Muscatine; 7. Todd Cooney, Des Moines; 8. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill.; 9. Ben Seemann, Waterloo; 10. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon; 11. Matt Ryan, Davenport; 12. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 13. Ryan Griffith, Webster City; 14. Scott Fitzpatrick, Cedar Falls; 15. Jerry King, Waterloo; 16. Curt Schroeder, Newton; 17. Charlie McKenna, Clear Lake; 18. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown; 19. Richie Gustin, Gilman; 20. Corey Zeitner, Omaha, Neb.; 21. Josh Most, Red Oak; 22. John Emerson, Waterloo; 23. Justin Kay, Wheatland; 24. Luke Goedert, Guttenberg.

1st heat – 1. DeFrance; 2. Gustin; 3. Zrostlik; 4. Ryan; 5. Goedert; 6. John Emerson, Waterloo; 7. Curt Schroeder, Newton; 8. Kirby Schultz, Albia; 9. Fitzpatrick.

2nd heat – 1. Kay; 2. Aikey; 3. Cooney; 4. McKenna; 5. Shane DeMey, Dennison; 6. Luke Pestka, Robbins; 7. Doug McCollough, Webster City; 8. Zeitner.

3rd heat – 1. Callahan; 2. Rauen; 3. Dolan; 4. Holladay; 5. Josh Most, Red Oak; 6. Guss; 7. Eric Sanders, Sherrard, Ill.; 8. Travis Hanson, Swansboro, N.C.

4th heat – 1. Griffith; 2. Seemann; 3. Bruening; 4. Jerry King, Waterloo; 5. Carter; 6. Jon Passick, Waterloo; 7. Jake Neal, Omaha, Neb.; 8. Mike Smith, Newton.

1st “B” feature – 1. McKenna; 2. Ryan; 3. Emerson; 4. Goedert; 5. Zeitner; 6. Fitzpatrick; 7. Schroeder; 8. Pestka; 9. McCollough; 10. DeMey; 11. Schultz.

2nd “B” feature –  1. Holladay; 2. Most; 3. Guss; 4. Carter; 5. King; 6. Passick; 7. Smith; 8. Sanders; 9. Neal; 10. Hanson.

Non-qualifier dash – 1. Pestka; 2. Passick; 3. Schultz; 4. DeMey; 5. McCollough; 6. Smith.