Sprint Series of Oklahoma ready for Pat Suchy Memorial

By David Smith Jr.

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. – What is sure to be highlighted on every race fan and sprint car driver’s schedule for years to come, the inaugural Pat Suchy Memorial featuring the Sprint Series of Oklahoma IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars, will take place this coming Saturday night at Brill Motor Speedway in Meeker, Okla.

This event honors the long-time Oklahoma City car owner who owned everything from jalopies, super modifieds and championship dirt cars at Fairgrounds Speedway in Oklahoma City from the 1960’s to the late 1980’s. The Suchy’s Transmission and Auto Repair owner fielded cars for such drivers as Benny Taylor, Aaron Madden Harold Leep and Shane Carson – just to name a few.

This event will pay $800 to win and $275 to start the 20-car feature finale. Heat race money will also be paid as well as all drivers competing in the night’s “B” feature who do not transfer into the night’s championship finale. The trophy will be presented by Suchy’s daughter, Janelle (Flatt), with many of Suchy’s grandchildren and great grandchildren also expected to be on hand.

Pit gates open at 5 p.m. with racing slated for a 7:30 p.m. start time. Grandstand admission is $15 for adults ages 16 and up; $13 for ages 12-15 and all seniors while all pit passes are $30.

Brill Motor Speedway is located off of I-40 to exit 186 then sixteen miles north on State Highway 18.